Antitrust and Competition

NERA economists employ economic theory and quantitative methods, grounded in a thorough understanding of the market, to provide a full range of theoretical and empirical economic analysis and testimony in matters involving mergers and acquisitions, antitrust litigation, and competition policy. We analyze the entire range of economic issues that arise in antitrust cases, including market definition, market dynamics, entry conditions, pricing, single firm conduct, agreements, and profitability. NERA's experts assess and, when appropriate, testify to the economic merits of allegations of anticompetitive mergers and acquisitions, foreclosure and exclusionary conduct (e.g., tying, bundling, and refusals to deal), horizontal and vertical restraints, monopolization and abuse of dominant position, and collusion. NERA's experts also have extensive experience estimating damages in antitrust matters, as well as assessing the appropriateness of class certification.

Clients value our reputation for objectivity, which is based on our expertise and insights from backgrounds in academia, business, and enforcement agencies, and our decades of experience working closely with antitrust and competition authorities around the world. Our experts are committed to a disciplined approach to economic analysis that produces unbiased, clear, and defensible findings. We understand the high stakes involved in our assignments and we take extraordinary measures to ensure our work is robust.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Beijing
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director
Co-Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Managing Director
Health Care Practice Chair
Los Angeles +1 213 346 3005 thomas.mccarthy@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Agustin Ros Managing Director Boston
México City
+1 617 927 4506
+52 (55) 5999311
agustin.ros@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Robert Southern Managing Director Melbourne
Sydney
+61 3 9623 5135
+61 2 8864 6510
robert.southern@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Dr. Timothy Watts Director New York City +1 212 345 1939 timothy.watts@nera.com
George Anstey Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Kristopher A. Boushie Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9282 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Dr. Alan J. Daskin (Jeff) Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4133 alan.daskin@nera.com
Jennifer Cascone Fauver Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 jennifer.fauver@nera.com
David Graham Associate Director Melbourne +61 3 9623 5245 David.Graham@nera.com
Dr. Christopher Milde Associate Director Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 90
+32 2 674 8819
+44 20 7659 8500
christopher.milde@nera.com
David Monk Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4001 david.monk@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth Newlon Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3019 elizabeth.newlon@nera.com
Dr. Pedro Posada Associate Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 pedro.posada@nera.com
Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan Associate Director New York City
Los Angeles
+1 212 345 0745
+1 213 346 3038
subbu.ramanarayanan@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Bernard Reddy Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4535 bernard.reddy@nera.com
Grant Saggers Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+44 20 7659 8672
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Nathan Blalock Senior Consultant Houston +1 832 871 5744 nathan.blalock@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Dr. Naoya Kaneko Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3294 naoya.kaneko@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Dirk van Leeuwen Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5318 dirk.van.leeuwen@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Dr. John Scalf Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2828 john.scalf@nera.com
Joel Simkins Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9267 joel.simkins@nera.com
Dr. Nadia Soboleva Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1018 nadia.soboleva@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Paul Wong Senior Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3026 paul.wong@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Lewis Evans Affiliated Academic Wellington +64 4 474 1320 lew.evans@vuw.ac.nz
Dr. Victor Goldberg Affiliated Academic New York City +1 212 345 3000 vpg@law.columbia.edu
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Carlo Scarpa Affiliated Academic Rome +39 06 488 8101 carlo.scarpa@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schwalbe Affiliated Academic Berlin
Brussels
+49 711 4592 2992
+32 2 674 8810
ulrich.schwalbe.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Bryan Tomlin Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 805 284 1811 bryan.tomlin@csuci.edu
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 Andrew.Joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Consultant Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Handbook of Competition Economics, 2017 Book Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki
Challenges for Economic Analysis of Mergers Between Potential Competitors: Steris and... Published Article By Jennifer Cascone Fauver and Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan
Improving Merger Analysis With Randomized Controls Trials Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey
Behavioural versus Structural Remedies in EU Competition Law Published Article By Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud
Transition toward a fully liberalised retail energy market in Italy: Lessons from the... Published Article By Marco Schönborn and Leen Dickx
Demonstrating Faulty Predictions in Class Certification Analysis Published Article Dr. Lauren Stiroh, Dr. Christine Meyer, and Dr. Claire (Chunying) Xie
The Revolution in the Law and Economics of Antitrust Class Certification Book By Dr. Lawrence Wu and Michele Floyd
Economics of the Interconnection Data Centre (IDC) Industry Report By Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud, Dr. Christopher Milde, and André Selke
An Economic Analysis of the Criteria Used to Distinguish Direct Sellers from Pyramid ... Report By Dr. Chetan Sanghvi, Dr. Timothy Watts, Jennifer Cascone-Fauver, et al
The Object of My Effect: The Role of Economics in Restrictions “By Object” in the Eur... White Paper By Pedro Posada and António Freitas