Antitrust and Competition

Antitrust Damages and Litigation

Antitrust Damages and Litigation

NERA's global antitrust and competition economists apply microeconomic reasoning and econometric modeling techniques to real-world data to establish or refute a direct causal connection between the alleged antitrust violation and the injury claimed (the fact of injury or impact), as well as measure the amount of damages.

In determining antitrust damages, we develop realistic, market-based "but-for" scenarios. Depending on the specific facts developed in the course of litigation, NERA economists use the appropriate approach to calculating damages, such as estimating the difference between the price actually paid and the price that would have been paid if the alleged violation had not occurred.  NERA’s experts have calculated the plaintiff's lost profits as a result of alleged anticompetitive behavior, as well as the loss of going concern value if the plaintiff's business is harmed.

Damages analyses prepared by NERA economists have been used to advise a company's owners, management, or board of directors of the company's potential exposure; to provide input to negotiations between companies and US national and state antitrust agencies, the European Commission, and competition authorities throughout the world; and to help parties negotiate settlements in civil litigation. Our experts' damage analyses are also regularly incorporated into expert reports and deposition and trial testimony in US federal and state courts, as well as before courts and arbitration panels around the world.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Managing Director
Health Care Practice Chair
Los Angeles +1 213 346 3005 thomas.mccarthy@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jennifer Cascone Fauver Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 jennifer.fauver@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Grant Saggers Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+44 20 7659 8672
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Eugene Ericksen Affiliated Academic Philadelphia +1 215 864 3878 eugene.ericksen.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schwalbe Affiliated Academic Berlin
Brussels
+49 711 4592 2992
+32 2 674 8810
ulrich.schwalbe.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Paper Trail: Review of a Recent Working Paper on the Effect of Copay Coupons on Drug ... Published Article The Antitrust Source
The Handbook of Competition Economics, 2017 Book Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki
Improving Merger Analysis With Randomized Controls Trials Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey
Demonstrating Faulty Predictions in Class Certification Analysis Published Article Dr. Lauren Stiroh, Dr. Christine Meyer, and Dr. Claire (Chunying) Xie
The Revolution in the Law and Economics of Antitrust Class Certification Book By Dr. Lawrence Wu and Michele Floyd
Economics of the Interconnection Data Centre (IDC) Industry Report By Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud, Dr. Christopher Milde, and André Selke
An Economic Analysis of the Criteria Used to Distinguish Direct Sellers from Pyramid ... Report By Dr. Chetan Sanghvi, Dr. Timothy Watts, Jennifer Cascone-Fauver, et al
The Object of My Effect: The Role of Economics in Restrictions “By Object” in the Eur... White Paper By Pedro Posada and António Freitas
Comments on U.S. Sentencing Commission’s Amendment Cycle Ending in 2016 Working Paper By Todd Morrison, Tristan Diaz, et al.
Ownership and Control: Implications for the Analysis of Interlocking Directorates, Pa... Book Dr. Elizabeth Bailey