Antitrust and Competition

Class Certification in Antitrust

Class Certification in Antitrust

NERA experts regularly prepare economic analyses that examine whether or not impact (the fact of damage) and damages (the overcharge amount) can be proved on a common, class-wide basis for all members of a proposed class using common evidence, or if instead individual evidence is needed to demonstrate impact and damages customer by customer, or for different groups of customers. The most effective economic evidence regarding class certification will consider both economic theory and empirical tests, and will carefully examine:

  • the facts and allegations specific to the complaint;
  • the characteristics of the products or services at issue;
  • the prices actually paid and the pricing mechanisms for the products or services; and
  • the characteristics of the proposed class and class representatives and the nature of the alleged conspiracy.

When these analyses demonstrate that significant variability exists among the alleged class members, it may not be possible to establish impact (or damages) on a class-wide basis. In such cases, the amount of damages sustained by a customer will need to account for individual factors and cannot be reduced to a single class-wide formula.

NERA's experts also use economic and econometric analyses to identify potential conflicts among members of the purported class. For example, the alleged conspiracy may affect different members of the purported class significantly differently. Alternatively, empirical results from damages models may uncover potential conflicts among the members of the purported class.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Managing Director
Health Care Practice Chair
Los Angeles +1 213 346 3005 thomas.mccarthy@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jennifer Cascone Fauver Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 jennifer.fauver@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Grant Saggers Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+44 20 7659 8672
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Eugene Ericksen Affiliated Academic Philadelphia +1 215 864 3878 eugene.ericksen.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Paper Trail: Review of a Recent Working Paper on the Effect of Copay Coupons on Drug ... Published Article The Antitrust Source
The Handbook of Competition Economics, 2017 Book Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki
Improving Merger Analysis With Randomized Controls Trials Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey
Demonstrating Faulty Predictions in Class Certification Analysis Published Article Dr. Lauren Stiroh, Dr. Christine Meyer, and Dr. Claire (Chunying) Xie
The Revolution in the Law and Economics of Antitrust Class Certification Book By Dr. Lawrence Wu and Michele Floyd
Economics of the Interconnection Data Centre (IDC) Industry Report By Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud, Dr. Christopher Milde, and André Selke
An Economic Analysis of the Criteria Used to Distinguish Direct Sellers from Pyramid ... Report By Dr. Chetan Sanghvi, Dr. Timothy Watts, Jennifer Cascone-Fauver, et al
The Object of My Effect: The Role of Economics in Restrictions “By Object” in the Eur... White Paper By Pedro Posada and António Freitas
Comments on U.S. Sentencing Commission’s Amendment Cycle Ending in 2016 Working Paper By Todd Morrison, Tristan Diaz, et al.
Ownership and Control: Implications for the Analysis of Interlocking Directorates, Pa... Book Dr. Elizabeth Bailey