Antitrust and Competition

General Antitrust and Competition Policy

General Antitrust and Competition Policy

Recent regulatory developments around the world suggest a growing movement by competition authorities toward more stringent enforcement and stronger penalties. In Europe, Australia, Asia, and the US, competition authorities continue to vigorously target price fixing and cartel activity. This trend has been accompanied by a shift toward a greater reliance on and increased scrutiny of quantitative analysis in antitrust and competition proceedings.

In order to comply with these more rigorous policies, companies need access to strong quantitative analytical capabilities while avoiding potentially costly "quick fixes." Shortcuts that fail to take into account the larger economic issues that affect complex antitrust matters can backfire, leaving businesses more vulnerable to litigation and regulatory investigations, challenges, or fines.

NERA's experts understand the specialized business issues and the broader economic conditions that underlie competition matters. Our expertise in applying rigorous economic, analytical, and quantitative tools to global antitrust and competition policy issues is reflected in our experts' numerous publications in peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals. NERA economists help clients bolster their legal and regulatory cases, counter allegations of antitrust violations, and anticipate internal vulnerabilities.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jennifer Cascone Fauver Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 jennifer.fauver@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Grant Saggers Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+44 20 7659 8672
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schwalbe Affiliated Academic Berlin
Brussels
+49 711 4592 2992
+32 2 674 8810
ulrich.schwalbe.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Paper Trail: Review of a Recent Working Paper on the Effect of Copay Coupons on Drug ... Published Article The Antitrust Source
The Handbook of Competition Economics, 2017 Book Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki
Improving Merger Analysis With Randomized Controls Trials Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey
Demonstrating Faulty Predictions in Class Certification Analysis Published Article Dr. Lauren Stiroh, Dr. Christine Meyer, and Dr. Claire (Chunying) Xie
The Revolution in the Law and Economics of Antitrust Class Certification Book By Dr. Lawrence Wu and Michele Floyd
Economics of the Interconnection Data Centre (IDC) Industry Report By Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud, Dr. Christopher Milde, and André Selke
An Economic Analysis of the Criteria Used to Distinguish Direct Sellers from Pyramid ... Report By Dr. Chetan Sanghvi, Dr. Timothy Watts, Jennifer Cascone-Fauver, et al
The Object of My Effect: The Role of Economics in Restrictions “By Object” in the Eur... White Paper By Pedro Posada and António Freitas
Comments on U.S. Sentencing Commission’s Amendment Cycle Ending in 2016 Working Paper By Todd Morrison, Tristan Diaz, et al.
Ownership and Control: Implications for the Analysis of Interlocking Directorates, Pa... Book Dr. Elizabeth Bailey