Antitrust and Competition

Horizontal and Vertical Agreements

Horizontal and Vertical Agreements

NERA's antitrust experts have assessed the economic rationales and effects of horizontal and vertical agreements across the globe. In the US, NERA experts have analyzed the competitive implications of agreements in industries as diverse as pet food, soft drinks, software, industrial products, coal, and franchising (including, for example, restaurants, tools, and professional sports). We assess the competitive impact of practices such as territorial exclusivity, cooperative advertising programs, exclusive dealing, and resale price maintenance. Our analyses have been presented to federal and state investigative agencies and in Federal and state courts.

NERA's European competition team is at the forefront in pushing for a more rigorous economic approach to the assessment of horizontal and vertical agreements. Our experts have analyzed the economic impact of numerous agreements between firms at different levels of the supply chain, including selective distribution, exclusive distribution, exclusive dealing, and the impact of recommended retail prices. NERA economists play an important ongoing role in this evolving area of European competition policy.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Timothy Watts Director New York City +1 212 345 1939 timothy.watts@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Grant Saggers Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+44 20 7659 8672
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Paper Trail: Review of a Recent Working Paper on the Effect of Copay Coupons on Drug ... Published Article The Antitrust Source
The Handbook of Competition Economics, 2017 Book Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki
Improving Merger Analysis With Randomized Controls Trials Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey
Demonstrating Faulty Predictions in Class Certification Analysis Published Article Dr. Lauren Stiroh, Dr. Christine Meyer, and Dr. Claire (Chunying) Xie
The Revolution in the Law and Economics of Antitrust Class Certification Book By Dr. Lawrence Wu and Michele Floyd
Economics of the Interconnection Data Centre (IDC) Industry Report By Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud, Dr. Christopher Milde, and André Selke
An Economic Analysis of the Criteria Used to Distinguish Direct Sellers from Pyramid ... Report By Dr. Chetan Sanghvi, Dr. Timothy Watts, Jennifer Cascone-Fauver, et al
The Object of My Effect: The Role of Economics in Restrictions “By Object” in the Eur... White Paper By Pedro Posada and António Freitas
Comments on U.S. Sentencing Commission’s Amendment Cycle Ending in 2016 Working Paper By Todd Morrison, Tristan Diaz, et al.
Ownership and Control: Implications for the Analysis of Interlocking Directorates, Pa... Book Dr. Elizabeth Bailey