Antitrust and Competition

Monopolization/Abuse of Dominant Position

Monopolization/Abuse of Dominant Position

In the US, NERA's antitrust experts regularly work on matters involving alleged violations of Section 2 of the Sherman Act brought by private litigants, the federal government, and various state governments. We also assess alleged violations of Section 5 of the FTC Act.  In these matters, we deliver advice to our clients and counsel throughout investigations of alleged predation, tying, foreclosure, price discrimination, refusals to deal, or other allegations of monopoly/monopsony behavior. We regularly participate in presentations to regulatory agencies and provide testimony in federal and state courts. NERA economists have been directly involved in a number of important matters brought under the Sherman Act and the FTC Act, including work on behalf of American Airlines, Rambus, Schering Plough, and Intel. In addition, we often assess proposed practices prior to implementation and offer advice regarding whether there is likely to be a government challenge and, if so, how such challenges can be met.

In Europe, NERA's competition experts have advised on numerous abuse of dominance and monopoly investigations in cases before the European Commission and the national competition authorities of EU member states. These have included inquiries under Article 102 (formerly Article 82), as well as Chapter II of the UK Competition Act and other national legislation on a range of matters including foreclosure, excessive pricing, price discrimination, aftermarkets, refusal to supply, bundling and tying, essential facilities, and predatory pricing. In addition, NERA’s European competition experts have extensive experience in market investigations under UK national law, including the high-profile investigations into Groceries and Airports. And, as increasing numbers of countries adopt and enforce competition statutes, NERA experts are actively providing economic analyses to clients whose practices might be challenged by antitrust authorities throughout the world, such as those in South Africa and China.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Managing Director
Health Care Practice Chair
Los Angeles +1 213 346 3005 thomas.mccarthy@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Grant Saggers Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+44 20 7659 8672
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schwalbe Affiliated Academic Berlin
Brussels
+49 711 4592 2992
+32 2 674 8810
ulrich.schwalbe.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Paper Trail: Review of a Recent Working Paper on the Effect of Copay Coupons on Drug ... Published Article The Antitrust Source
The Handbook of Competition Economics, 2017 Book Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki
Improving Merger Analysis With Randomized Controls Trials Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey
Demonstrating Faulty Predictions in Class Certification Analysis Published Article Dr. Lauren Stiroh, Dr. Christine Meyer, and Dr. Claire (Chunying) Xie
The Revolution in the Law and Economics of Antitrust Class Certification Book By Dr. Lawrence Wu and Michele Floyd
Economics of the Interconnection Data Centre (IDC) Industry Report By Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud, Dr. Christopher Milde, and André Selke
An Economic Analysis of the Criteria Used to Distinguish Direct Sellers from Pyramid ... Report By Dr. Chetan Sanghvi, Dr. Timothy Watts, Jennifer Cascone-Fauver, et al
The Object of My Effect: The Role of Economics in Restrictions “By Object” in the Eur... White Paper By Pedro Posada and António Freitas
Comments on U.S. Sentencing Commission’s Amendment Cycle Ending in 2016 Working Paper By Todd Morrison, Tristan Diaz, et al.
Ownership and Control: Implications for the Analysis of Interlocking Directorates, Pa... Book Dr. Elizabeth Bailey