Class Actions and Class Certification

Economic analysis is an important and valuable tool in a wide range of class action litigation. NERA experts advise clients on the entire range of economic issues that can arise in class action cases, including the determination of common impact on a class-wide basis, proof of injury, analysis of intra class conflict, and the feasibility of formulaic approaches to damages. NERA economists employ sophisticated economic theory and quantitative methods, grounded in a thorough understanding of markets. We work with clients at all stages of counseling, from the pre-complaint period through discovery and trial, and we present our findings in a clear and concise manner that is accessible to attorneys, juries and judges, as well as other economists. Our expertise in these areas includes:

Antitrust

NERA's antitrust experts regularly prepare economic analyses that examine whether or not impact (the fact of damage) and damages (the overcharge amount) can be proved on a common, class-wide basis for all members of a proposed class using common evidence, or if instead individual evidence is needed to demonstrate impact and damages customer by customer, or for different groups of customers.

Labor and Employment

NERA's labor economists advise clients on the entire range of economic issues that can arise in class actions alleging discrimination or wage and hour violations, including the determination of common impact on a classwide basis, proof of injury, analysis of intra-class conflict, and the feasibility of formulaic approaches to damages.

Product Liability

NERA experts provide assistance at each stage of consumer class actions alleging misrepresentation, fraud, product failure, or diminution of value. We have experience in a wide range of industries including credit cards, automobiles and automotive products, computers, sporting goods, medical products, buildings products, and telecommunication devices.

Securities

NERAs securities and finance economists frequently provide consulting and testifying services in securities class actions. Even before the case gets underway, clients often ask us to estimate the exposure and the amount that defendants are likely to pay if the case settles. Using our knowledge of plaintiff-style damage calculation methodologies and our proprietary database of information on hundreds of prior shareholder class action settlements, NERA provides estimates for both of these figures to help counsel better assess the magnitude of the case. NERA also helps clients deal with the early phases of arguments about whether or not a case should proceed.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Securities and Finance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jorge Baez Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5753 jorge.baez@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2842 ignacio.franceschelli@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2015 Full-Year Review Report By Svetlana Starykh and Stefan Boettrich
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2014 Update; The Docket Continues to Gro... Report By Bradley A. Heys, Jacob Dwhytie, and Mark L. Berenblut
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2014 Full-Year Review Study By Svetlana Starykh et al
Consumer Class Action Settlements: 2010-2013 Settlements Increasing, With a Focus on ... Working Paper By Dr. Stephanie Plancich, Adam Augustson, and Wendy Magoronga
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2013 Update; Filings Steady, Law in Flux... Report By Bradley A. Heys, Jacob Dwhytie, and Mark L. Berenblut
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2013 Full-Year Review Report By Svetlana Starykh et al.
Using Statistical Analysis For Employee Misclassification Published Article By Mary Elizabeth C. Stern, et al.
Comcast and Economic Analysis of Class Certification Issues Working Paper By Drew Claxton and Dr. Faten Sabry
Short Sale Constraints and Market Efficiency in Securities Litigation Working Paper By Stefan Boettrich