Class Actions and Class Certification

Class Certification in Antitrust

Class Certification in Antitrust

NERA experts regularly prepare economic analyses that examine whether or not impact (the fact of damage) and damages (the overcharge amount) can be proved on a common, class-wide basis for all members of a proposed class using common evidence, or if instead individual evidence is needed to demonstrate impact and damages customer by customer, or for different groups of customers. The most effective economic evidence regarding class certification will consider both economic theory and empirical tests, and will carefully examine:

  • the facts and allegations specific to the complaint;
  • the characteristics of the products or services at issue;
  • the prices actually paid and the pricing mechanisms for the products or services; and
  • the characteristics of the proposed class and class representatives and the nature of the alleged conspiracy.

When these analyses demonstrate that significant variability exists among the alleged class members, it may not be possible to establish impact (or damages) on a class-wide basis. In such cases, the amount of damages sustained by a customer will need to account for individual factors and cannot be reduced to a single class-wide formula.

NERA's experts also use economic and econometric analyses to identify potential conflicts among members of the purported class. For example, the alleged conspiracy may affect different members of the purported class significantly differently. Alternatively, empirical results from damages models may uncover potential conflicts among the members of the purported class.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jennifer Cascone Fauver Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 jennifer.fauver@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2017 Update Report Mary Elizabeth C. Stern and Lucy P. Allen
Securities Class Actions: 2016 Full-Year Review and Mid-2017 Flash Update Published Article By Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
Economics of Antitrust: Complex Issues In a Dynamic Economy Book Edited by Dr. Lawrence Wu