Class Actions and Class Certification

Securities Class Actions

Securities Class Actions

Economists are often used as consultants and expert witnesses in matters involving securities fraud. However, our work often begins well before a case makes its way into the courtroom. When engaged early on and throughout the life of a case, economists can be important members of the team crafting appropriate legal strategy.

Even before the case gets underway, clients often ask us to estimate the exposure and the amount that defendants are likely to pay if the case settles. Using our knowledge of plaintiff-style damage calculation methodologies and our proprietary database of information on hundreds of prior shareholder class action settlements, NERA provides estimates for both of these figures to help counsel better assess the magnitude of the case.

NERA also helps clients deal with the early phases of arguments about whether or not a case should proceed. Specifically, if there is a class action, we provide the information about whether the market in which securities traded was efficient and on the extent of conflicts among class members. Depending on the case, we may also be able to point out economic arguments in favor of or against defendant liability. This information can be used in discussions with opposing parties. If the case does proceed, NERA provides additional arguments on liability and performs more refined damage analyses used in settlement negotiations or at trial.

We are often asked to critique opposing expert reports and analyses, pointing out their strong and weak points, any methodological errors and, when appropriate, to help counsel prepare Daubert motions to exclude opposing testimony.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Securities and Finance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Svetlana Starykh Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4123 svetlana.starykh@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2017 Update Report Mary Elizabeth C. Stern and Lucy P. Allen
Securities Class Actions: 2016 Full-Year Review and Mid-2017 Flash Update Published Article By Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2014 Update; The Docket Continues to Gro... Report By Bradley A. Heys, Jacob Dwhytie, and Mark L. Berenblut
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2014 Full-Year Review Study By Svetlana Starykh et al
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2013 Update; Filings Steady, Law in Flux... Report By Bradley A. Heys, Jacob Dwhytie, and Mark L. Berenblut
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2013 Full-Year Review Report By Svetlana Starykh et al.
Comcast and Economic Analysis of Class Certification Issues Working Paper By Drew Claxton and Dr. Faten Sabry
Short Sale Constraints and Market Efficiency in Securities Litigation Working Paper By Stefan Boettrich