Commercial Litigation and Damages

Complex business disputes often raise complex economic issues. Resolving these disputes requires objectivity, access to resources, information and experience, and a rigorous and unbiased scientific approach. NERA professionals provide dispute resolution insight through research, analysis and valuation.

Our experts combine economic principles, recognized finance and valuation models, accounting principles, and statistical techniques with vast industry experience to address issues arising from general civil disputes, strategic business decision-making, public policy, competition and regulation. We are as recognized for our rigorous application of accepted scientific theory and mathematical models as we are for our ability to communicate concepts, opinions and conclusions in a clear, understandable and persuasive manner.

Advisory services that help shape business strategies:

  • Analysis and impact of competition, regulation, and management decisions on market and firm performance
  • Analysis of cost, pricing, and product strategies
  • Liability valuation and management of risk
  • Business valuation, intangible property valuation, and options valuation

Law and economics services that help shape litigation strategies:

  • Risk analysis and dispute avoidance
  • Early dispute resolution
  • Analysis of economic issues in understanding the merits of a case
  • Discovery insight and objective analysis of economic impact reporting and testimony
Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Securities and Finance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Beijing
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
Geneva
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
+41 22 819 94 94
christian.dippon@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
John Garvey Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2801 john.garvey@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Fabrizio Hernández Managing Director Madrid
London
Rome
+34 91 521 0020
+44 20 7659 8500
+39 06 488 8101
fabrizio.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director
Co-Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Co-Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Antoinette (Toni) Pincott Managing Director London +44 20 7659 8576 toni.pincott@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust & Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Dr. Jon Wainwright Managing Director Austin
Chicago
+1 512 383 4802
+1 312 573 2800
jon.wainwright@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Tomas Haug Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Mary Elizabeth C. Stern Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4054 mary.elizabeth.stern@nera.com
Jorge Baez Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5753 jorge.baez@nera.com
Kristopher A. Boushie Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9282 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Drew Claxton Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 3442 drew.claxton@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Dr. Christopher Milde Associate Director Berlin
Brussels
London
+49 30 700 1506 90
+32 2 674 8819
+44 20 7659 8500
christopher.milde@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
George Anstey Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Stefan Boettrich Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1968 stefan.boettrich@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Willis Geffert Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Principal Frankfurt
Berlin
+49 69 710 447 504
+49 30 700 1506 01
bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Principal Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Dr. Naoya Kaneko Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3294 naoya.kaneko@nera.com
George Minkovsky Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2804 george.minkovsky@nera.com
Clara Segurola Principal London +44 20 7659 8606 clara.segurola@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Georgi Tsvetkov Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9237 georgi.tsvetkov@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Jerry Arnold Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 310 570 3982 JArnold@marshall.usc.edu
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Victor Goldberg Affiliated Academic New York City +1 212 345 3000 vpg@law.columbia.edu
Dr. Paul Wertheim Affiliated Academic Austin
Toronto
Los Angeles
+ 1 512 383 4800
+1 416 868 7314
+1 325 674 2071
paul.wertheim.affiliate@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 212 345 2687
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Edward Kee Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 370 7713 edward.kee.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Off The Wagon Published Article By Dr. Alan Cox
The Use of Event Studies in Disputes and Enforcement Published Article By Robert Patton with former NERA Senior Consultant Susanne Toft
Effective Dispute Resolution: Roundtable Published Article A roundtable with Dr. Steven Schwartz
Guideline Companies in Valuation: The Economist's View of the Market Approach Working Paper By Dr. David Tabak
Survey Techniques for Rigorous Measurement of Damages in Trade Dress Confusion Cases Study By Dr. Alan Cox and Louis Guth
Two Worlds Colliding? Transfer Pricing and Damages in Intellectual Property Litigatio... White Paper By Bryan Ray et al.
Rigorous Surveys for More Accurate IP Damages Published Article By Dr. Alan Cox
Unreasonable Royalties Presentation By Dr. Lauren Stiroh
Standard Setting and Market Power Report By Dr. Richard Rapp and Dr. Lauren Stiroh
Evaluation of Alternative Initial Allocation Mechanisms in a European Union Greenhous... Report By Dr. David Harrison and Daniel Radov