Communications, Media, and Internet

NERA's Communications, Media, and Internet experts are global leaders in applying economic expertise to critical challenges faced by private and public entities in the telecommunications, media, and postal sectors. With deep industry knowledge and unparalleled experience, our experts specialize in:

  • Regulation and public policy – NERA's experts have extensive experience in regulatory design of wholesale and retail markets, assessing the impact of regulatory decisions on market outcomes, and resolving complex regulatory challenges, often brought on by the convergence of the telecommunications and media sectors. We help clients understand the key regulatory issues and the implications for their businesses, devise appropriate regulatory strategies, and inform the regulatory decision-making process.
  • Antitrust and business litigation – Our telecommunications, media, and internet economists have an unmatched reputation for highly defensible analysis, based on rigorous economics and quantitative methods, and grounded in a thorough understanding of the industry, market forces, and the facts of the case. We work with our clients at all stages of competition and litigation matters, ranging from pre-merger analyses and pre-complaint counseling through discovery, direct and rebuttal testimonies, cross-examination, and oral testimony.
  • Spectrum management – NERA's experts are also at the forefront of integrating economics into spectrum management decisions. We are deeply involved in spectrum pricing, allocation, trading, and refarming efforts ongoing around the globe.
  • Auctions – Our team has an exceptional track record on advising government sellers and private buyers in spectrum auctions around the world. We also advise on auctions of other communications assets, such as broadcast licenses, sports rights, and corporate asset transfers.

Our team includes economists who have worked for broadcasters, mobile network operators, telcos, and postal providers, and for academic institutions and regulatory agencies around the world. We often work with interdisciplinary teams of engineering, finance, and legal experts. Our experience and reach is global, with experts based in Europe, Australia, Asia, and North America working on telecommunications issues throughout the world.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Richard Marsden Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Dr. Soren Tang Sorensen Associate Director London +44 7775 018622 soren.sorensen@nera.com
Dr. Bruno Soria Associate Director Madrid +34 91 212 64 00 bruno.soria@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Hans-Martin Ihle Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3290 hans.ihle@nera.com
Dr. Robert Kulick Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9262 robert.kulick@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Dirk van Leeuwen Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5318 dirk.van.leeuwen@nera.com
Dr. J. Howard Beales, III Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 703 346 1290 hbeales@gwu.edu
Dr. Lewis Evans Affiliated Academic Wellington +64 4 474 1320 lew.evans@vuw.ac.nz
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Carlo Scarpa Affiliated Academic Rome +39 06 488 8101 carlo.scarpa@nera.com
Nigel Attenborough Affiliated Industry Expert London +44 20 7659 8514 nigel.attenborough.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Effective Spectrum Pricing: Supporting Better Quality and More Affordable Mobile Serv... Report By Richard Marsden, Dr. Bruno Soria, and Hans-Martin Ihle
Making America Rich Again: The Latino Effect on Economic Growth Study By Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach
FCC’s Revised Set-Top Box Proposal Remains Deeply Flawed Report By Dr. Christian M. Dippon
Mechanisms to Incentivize Shared-Use of Spectrum Report By Richard Marsden and Hans-Martin Ihle
The FCC’s Latest Attempt to Promulgate More Regulation in the Multichannel Video Dist... White Paper By Dr. Christian M. Dippon
Do Economic, Institutional, or Political Variables Explain Regulated Wholesale Unbund... Published Article By Dr. Gary Madden, Dr. Christian Dippon, and Dr. Hiroaki Suenaga
A New Regulatory Framework for the Digital Ecosystem Study By Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach and Dr. Bruno Soria
Declaration Regarding Differential Pricing for Data Services Report By Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach
Broadband Market Performance in Canada: Implications for Policy White Paper Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach
FCC Open Internet Order Creates Uncertainty and Risk Published Article Dr. Christian Dippon (with Marty Stern and Sam Castic of K&L Gates)