Energy

NERA's Energy Practice is at the forefront of the continuing transformation of the energy industries worldwide. We have pioneered in developing approaches for introducing competition in segments such as power generation and gas supply where competition is workable and for improving the regulation of sectors where it is not. We work with companies, governmental bodies, and regulators worldwide to design competitive gas and electricity markets and to develop tariffs and rules of access for regulated transmission and distribution systems for electricity, gas, and the transport of oil and oil products.

With industry restructuring in many countries, we also help companies develop strategies for exploring new opportunities and minimizing new risks, including issues related to climate change and other environmental initiatives. We help our clients to develop new regulatory strategies and, when needed, support our clients with analysis and testimony before regulatory commissions, antitrust and competition policy agencies, and domestic and international courts.

Our economists help clients to decide which lines of business to pursue; to divest assets no longer consistent with their strategy; to identify and evaluate opportunities for mergers, acquisitions, and investment; and to develop bidding, trading, contracting, and marketing organizations and strategies. Our work also includes designing and conducting energy auctions, as well as providing strategy and valuation advice on mergers and acquisitions, the financing of energy companies, and the financial restructuring of distressed companies.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Oscar Arnedillo Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Senior Vice President Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Matthew Evans Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 2945 matthew.evans@nera.com
Sean Gammons Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Senior Vice President
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Senior Vice President
Energy, Environment, and Network Industries Practice Chair
Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 58 840 70
+33 1 45 02 30 00
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Senior Vice President Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Richard Marsden Senior Vice President New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com