Energy

NERA's Energy Practice is at the forefront of the continuing transformation of the energy industries worldwide. We have pioneered in developing approaches for introducing competition in segments such as power generation and gas supply where competition is workable and for improving the regulation of sectors where it is not. We work with companies, governmental bodies, and regulators worldwide to design competitive gas and electricity markets and to develop tariffs and rules of access for regulated transmission and distribution systems for electricity, gas, and the transport of oil and oil products.

With industry restructuring in many countries, we also help companies develop strategies for exploring new opportunities and minimizing new risks, including issues related to climate change and other environmental initiatives. We help our clients to develop new regulatory strategies and, when needed, support our clients with analysis and testimony before regulatory commissions, antitrust and competition policy agencies, and domestic and international courts.

Our economists help clients to decide which lines of business to pursue; to divest assets no longer consistent with their strategy; to identify and evaluate opportunities for mergers, acquisitions, and investment; and to develop bidding, trading, contracting, and marketing organizations and strategies. Our work also includes designing and conducting energy auctions, as well as providing strategy and valuation advice on mergers and acquisitions, the financing of energy companies, and the financial restructuring of distressed companies.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Sean Gammons Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Glenn R. George Senior Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9284 glenn.george@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Senior Vice President
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Senior Vice President
Energy, Environment, and Network Industries Practice Chair
Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 45 02 30 00
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Senior Vice President Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Richard Marsden Senior Vice President New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com
James Mellsop Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Senior Vice President
Chair of NERA's Antitrust Practice
New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Senior Vice President
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Robert Southern Director Melbourne
Sydney
+61 3 9623 5135
+61 2 8864 6510
robert.southern@nera.com
Dr. Paul Bernstein Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9216 paul.bernstein@nera.com
Rebecca Billings Associate Director Melbourne +61 3 9623 5201 rebecca.billings@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Patrick Breslin Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9259 pat.breslin@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Vice President New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Richard Druce Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
James Grayburn Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8572 james.grayburn@nera.com
Tomas Haug Associate Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Vice President Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Vakhtang Kvekvetsia Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8746 vakhtang.kvekvetsia@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Associate Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Amparo Nieto Vice President Los Angeles +1 213 346 3041 amparo.nieto@nera.com
Dr. Juan Carlos Ortigas Associate Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 juan.ortigas@nera.com
Daniel Radov Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Deirdre Rose Associate Director Melbourne +61 3 9900 6216 Deirdre.Rose@nera.com
Jorge Sanz Associate Director Madrid +34 912 126 440 jorge.sanz@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Dr. Stefan Berger Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 42 stefan.berger@nera.com
George Anstey Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Alon Carmel Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8628 alon.carmel@nera.com
Marta Moro Crespo Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 32 marta.moro@nera.com
Mark Fitzgibbon Senior Consultant Melbourne +61 3 9623 9800 mark.fitzgibbon@nera.com
Willis Geffert Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Principal Frankfurt
Berlin
+49 69 710 447 504
+49 30 700 1506 01
bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Principal Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Hans-Martin Ihle Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3290 Hans.Ihle@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Principal San Francisco
México City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 5999311
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Francesca Mazzarella Senior Consultant Rome +39 06 488 81026 francesca.mazzarella@nera.com
Marcelo Rabinovich Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 00 marcelo.rabinovich@nera.com
Alex Richardson Senior Consultant Melbourne +61 3 9623 5158 alex.richardson@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Senior Consultant Berlin
London
Rome
+49 30 700 1506 30
+44 20 7659 8586
+39 06 488 8101
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Joel Simkins Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9267 joel.simkins@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Mei Yuan Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9210 mei.yuan@nera.com
Dr. Karl McDermott Affiliated Academic Chicago +1 312 573 2822 karl.mcdermott.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Carlo Scarpa Affiliated Academic Rome +39 06 488 8101 carlo.scarpa@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 Dennis.Colenutt.affiliate@NERA.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 Andrew.Joskow.affilate@NERA.com
Edward Kee Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 370 7713 edward.kee.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. W. David Montgomery Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9294 W.David.Montgomery.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Tennican Affiliated Consultant Boston +1 617 927 4500 Michael.Tennican.affiliate@NERA.com
Title Type Author
There Is But One True Hub, and His Name Is Henry Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
A Petroleum Tanker of a Different Color: Obstacles to an LNG-based Global Gas Spot Ma... Working Paper By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm and Dr. Laura T.W. Olive
Choose your path: the future for Australia’s gas market Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
El Niño’s Uneven Disruption of World’s Electricity Systems Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Modelling the Impact of Zonal Transmission Loss Multipliers Report Sean Gammons and Richard Druce
NERA Expert Direct Testimony In the Matter of the Application of Otter Tail Power Com... Testimony By Amparo Nieto
UK Renewable Subsidies and Whole System Costs Report By Daniel Radov and Alon Carmel
Potential Electricity and Energy Price Outcomes under EPA’s Federal Plan Alternatives... Report By Dr. David Harrison Jr., Dr. Anne E. Smith, Scott Bloomberg, Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar, Dr. Elizabeth Walker, and Preston White
Why Does Most Shale Gas Worldwide Remain in the Ground? Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Pipeline Capacity Rights to Support a Competitive Gas Market:Theory and Applications Report By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm and Nina Hitchins