Energy

NERA's Energy Practice is at the forefront of the continuing transformation of the energy industries worldwide. We have pioneered in developing approaches for introducing competition in segments such as power generation and gas supply where competition is workable and for improving the regulation of sectors where it is not. We work with companies, governmental bodies, and regulators worldwide to design competitive gas and electricity markets and to develop tariffs and rules of access for regulated transmission and distribution systems for electricity, gas, and the transport of oil and oil products.

With industry restructuring in many countries, we also help companies develop strategies for exploring new opportunities and minimizing new risks, including issues related to climate change and other environmental initiatives. We help our clients to develop new regulatory strategies and, when needed, support our clients with analysis and testimony before regulatory commissions, antitrust and competition policy agencies, and domestic and international courts.

Our economists help clients to decide which lines of business to pursue; to divest assets no longer consistent with their strategy; to identify and evaluate opportunities for mergers, acquisitions, and investment; and to develop bidding, trading, contracting, and marketing organizations and strategies. Our work also includes designing and conducting energy auctions, as well as providing strategy and valuation advice on mergers and acquisitions, the financing of energy companies, and the financial restructuring of distressed companies.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Glenn R. George Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9284 glenn.george@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director
Energy, Environment, and Network Industries Practice Chair
Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Richard Marsden Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Robert Southern Managing Director Melbourne
Sydney
+61 3 9623 5135
+61 2 8864 6510
robert.southern@nera.com
Tomas Haug Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Dr. Paul Bernstein Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9216 paul.bernstein@nera.com
Rebecca Billings Associate Director Melbourne +61 3 9623 5201 rebecca.billings@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Richard Druce Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
James Grayburn Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8572 james.grayburn@nera.com
Vakhtang Kvekvetsia Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8746 vakhtang.kvekvetsia@nera.com
Amparo Nieto Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3041 amparo.nieto@nera.com
Dr. Juan Carlos Ortigas Associate Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 juan.ortigas@nera.com
Deirdre Rose Associate Director Melbourne +61 3 9900 6216 deirdre.rose@nera.com
Jorge Sanz Associate Director Madrid +34 912 126 440 jorge.sanz@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Dr. Stefan Berger Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 42 stefan.berger@nera.com
George Anstey Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Alon Carmel Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8628 alon.carmel@nera.com
Marta Moro Crespo Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 32 marta.moro@nera.com
Mark Fitzgibbon Senior Consultant Melbourne +61 3 9623 9800 mark.fitzgibbon@nera.com
Willis Geffert Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Principal Frankfurt
Berlin
+49 69 710 447 504
+49 30 700 1506 01
bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Principal Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Hans-Martin Ihle Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3290 hans.ihle@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Principal San Francisco
México City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 5999311
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Sebastian M. Mankowski, CFA Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9205 sebastian.mankowski@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Senior Consultant Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Marcelo Rabinovich Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 00 marcelo.rabinovich@nera.com
Alex Richardson Senior Consultant Melbourne +61 3 9623 5158 alex.richardson@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Senior Consultant Berlin
London
Rome
+49 30 700 1506 30
+44 20 7659 8586
+39 06 488 8101
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Joel Simkins Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9267 joel.simkins@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Karl McDermott Affiliated Academic Chicago +1 312 573 2822 karl.mcdermott.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Carlo Scarpa Affiliated Academic Rome +39 06 488 8101 carlo.scarpa@nera.com
David M. Boonin Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC
Philadelphia
215-985-4114 david.boonin.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan E. Finder Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC
Boston
+1 781 369 1531 alan.finder.affiliate@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 dennis.colenutt.affiliate@nera.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Bob Grabham Affiliated Consultant London +44 771 218 5503 bob.grabham.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 Andrew.Joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Edward Kee Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 370 7713 edward.kee.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. W. David Montgomery Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9294 w.david.montgomery.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Tennican Affiliated Consultant Boston +1 617 927 4500 michael.tennican.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
When Worlds Collide: Universal Challenges in Natural Gas and Electricity Markets Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
The REVolution yields to a more familiar path: New York’s Reforming the Energy Vision... Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
The Politics of U.S. Oil Pipelines: The First Born Struggles to Learn From the Clever... Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm and Dr. Laura T. W. Olive
Vision of Liquefied Natural Gas Hub: Mirage on the Ocean? Published Article By Dr. Laura T. W. Olive
The Cost of Capital for Financing Electricity Generation in the UK Study By Dr. Richard Hern, Daniel Radov, Alon Carmel, Marija Spasovska, and Jinzi Guo
Success Strategies in New Japanese Electric Power Market Published Article By Dr. Glenn R. George and Hans-Martin Ihle
Mexican Wholesale Electricity Market Report Report By Dr. Agustin Ros, Veronica Irastorza, and Elvira Creel
Decarbonising Interconnected Power Markets: Should Germany Join France in Implementin... White Paper By Sean Gammons, Daniel Radov, and Dominik Hübler
Getting Ready for Competition in Japan: Lessons Learned from Abroad Published Article By Sean Gammons, Dr. Glenn R. George, Robert Southern, and Willis Geffert
Will LNG Rescue World Gas Market? Maybe a Little Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm