Energy

Litigation Support

Litigation Support

Our energy practice frequently provides regulatory and litigation support. In the context of litigation, our understanding of market economics allows us to make convincing and defensible damage estimates. Most of our staff have extensive experience providing expert testimony in both regulatory and courtroom settings.

NERA experts routinely provide services such as:

  • Calculation of damages from contract breach, breach of law or breach of regulatory obligations. NERA has provided experts to calculate damages in cases such as breach of power sales contracts, gas purchase contracts, abuse of market power, valuation of insured property, or regulatory takings.
  • Testifying on economic principles and industry practices. NERA experts routinely appear on issues related to the regulation of utilities such as cost of capital, rate design, cost of service, regulatory models, prudence, affiliate standards and industry structure. Our experts routinely appear on practices within the industry, such as business practices and practices that affect environmental enforcement.
  • Bankruptcy. NERA provides services to creditors and debtors in bankruptcy, including testimony on issues in dispute.
  • Litigation support. NERA assists clients in assembling their case, assisting in developing strategies and assembling testimony.
  • Arbitration support. NERA has testified in arbitration proceedings throughout the world on disputes as diverse as bilateral investment treaties, trading practices, political risk insurance policies, contract breach and damages as well as advising parties in preparation for or anticipation of arbitration proceedings.
Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Vakhtang Kvekvetsia Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8746 vakhtang.kvekvetsia@nera.com
Willis Geffert Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Edward Kee Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 370 7713 edward.kee.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
International Arbitration in Regulated and Related Businesses: Why Hire Economists? Brief By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, Dr. Michael Rosenzweig, and Graham Shuttleworth with former NERA Vice President Dr. Leonardo Giacchino