Energy

M&A Support and Financing

M&A Support and Financing

The transformation of the energy sector worldwide through privatization and deregulation is continuing to spur acquisitions and mergers, as well as direct investment, within countries and across national borders. NERA has worked with some of the largest energy companies in North America, Europe, Latin America and Asia to help them to understand both the upside potential and the downside risks associated with mergers and acquisitions.

We have provided a variety of services, including identifying potentially attractive markets and companies within those markets; valuing a proposed transaction; analyzing bidding, contracting, pricing, derivatives, incentive regulation and other alternatives for increasing revenues, decreasing risk or both; responding to potential challenges based on market power, regulatory policy or other public interest concerns; and assisting with negotiations and implementation.

Each of these services may comprise a number of different elements. Our work may address a series of questions such as:

  •  What regulatory changes might be forthcoming?
  • What are the prospects for reasonable returns in regulated activities?
  • Are regulators likely to require divestiture of some assets to address market concentration concerns?
  • What is the market for the assets being acquired, and what are their likely cash flows?
  • What current or prospective environmental constraints could affect operations and asset values?
  • What, if any, further changes in industry structure and in rules governing competitive activities are likely?
Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Vakhtang Kvekvetsia Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8746 vakhtang.kvekvetsia@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Success Strategies in New Japanese Electric Power Market Published Article By Dr. Glenn R. George and Hans-Martin Ihle
Getting Ready for Competition in Japan: Lessons Learned from Abroad Published Article By Sean Gammons, Dr. Glenn R. George, and Willis Geffert et al.