Energy

Regulatory Design and Tariffs

Regulatory Design and Tariffs

In over 40 years of service to energy companies, NERA has made many important contributions to both the theory and the practice of regulatory economics. Electricity and gas is being sold in many competitive markets around the world; at the same time there is continued and more sophisticated regulation of the wires and pipelines that convey electricity and gas from power generators and gas producers to consumers.

Our practice has served electricity and gas sector clients across the world including clients in almost all of North America, in many countries in Central and South America, in nearly all of the countries of the European Union and other major markets including Russia. We have worked for clients in Australia and New Zealand and in many of the countries in Asia. Our staff of professional economists has practical experience for example, working in the gas and electricity industries themselves and in key regulatory agencies and government departments.

NERA's consultants have a comprehensive knowledge of the economics of gas and electricity markets, industry structures and the methods of regulation used by government and regulators. As governments and other agencies pursue liberalization of gas and electricity markets around the world, expert economic advice is essential for an understanding of the benefits and costs of different policy options, the extent to which industry restructuring is desirable and the need for and most effective forms of regulation. NERA advises regulators, governments and industry on all these issues.

NERA has extensive experience with all aspects of pricing policy including the design of prices for consumers and particularly the design of rates or tariffs for the transmission and distribution of gas and electricity. For many years NERA has been sought as a leading authority on pricing and, through seminars and training programs, we have taught thousands of industry professionals how to design tariffs.

NERA also has extensive experience with particular aspects of pricing including marginal cost pricing as applied to electricity tariffs. NERA's method for estimating marginal costs set the industry standard in the United States when it was introduced in the late 1970s. NERA's method for estimating marginal costs has been continually updated and enhanced, incorporating more rigorous techniques for capturing time-of-use and geographic differences in costs and providing a sound basis for efficient delivery tariffs as well as charges for bundled service. This experience has been applied in many countries in Europe and Australia.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Director New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
George Anstey Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Richard Druce Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Associate Director San Francisco
Mexico City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 59993110
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Willis Geffert Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Dr. William Baker Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8520 bill.baker.affiliate@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 dennis.colenutt.affiliate@nera.com
Edward Kee Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 370 7713 edward.kee.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Electricity Deregulation Under Siege II: Temptation of the Kleptocrats Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Electricity Deregulation Under Siege Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Selecting a Benchmarking Model Creates Need for an Error Margin, Says Dutch Court Published Article By Tomas Haug
Brexit and Divestiture Provides New Hope for “British” Gas Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
A Square Regulatory Peg in a Round Industry Hole: Europe’s Gas Industry Problems White Paper By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Incentive Regulatory Models for Electricity Distributors: A Review of Emerging Reform... Presentation By Richard Druce et al.
EPA’s Particulate Matter Co-Benefits: A Case of Ever-Declining Credibility Published Article By Scott J. Bloomberg
Mexican Energy Reform in the Power Sector: A Work in Progress Published Article By Michael S. Hindus and John B. McNeece III, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP; Veronica Irastorza, NERA Economic Consulting
There Is But One True Hub, and His Name Is Henry Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
A Petroleum Tanker of a Different Color: Obstacles to an LNG-based Global Gas Spot Ma... Working Paper By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm and Dr. Laura T.W. Olive