Environmental Economics

NERA's Environmental Economics Practice offers world-recognized expert services related to the economics of environmental policies in the fields of climate change, air quality, water quality, and other environmental, health, and safety areas. We have particular expertise in assisting clients with environmental strategy, litigation, and compliance. Using sophisticated proprietary and non-proprietary economic models, our experts have evaluated a wide variety of environmental policies, particularly related to energy and climate change. We also have extensive experience evaluating the economic impacts of a wide variety of government policies and infrastructure investments.
 
Our global experience includes work for public entities, companies, and trade associations, and covers a wide range of industries, including:

  • Electricity
  • Oil
  • Natural gas
  • Refining
  • Petrochemicals
  • Coal
  • Cement
  • Lime
  • Glass
  • Ceramics
  • Pulp and paper
  • Iron and steel
  • Aluminum
  • Chemicals
  • Plastics
  • Cars and trucks
  • Airlines
  • Marine shipping
  • Forestry
  • Large construction equipment
  • Outdoor recreational equipment
  • Lawn and garden equipment
  • Handheld equipment

We prepare reports, white papers, presentations, testimony, and other materials for a wide variety of audiences, including government agencies, senior company officials and management boards, trade associations, courts, and the general public.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Senior Vice President
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Beijing
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Senior Vice President
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
James Mellsop Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Senior Vice President
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Robert Southern Director Melbourne
Sydney
+61 3 9623 5135
+61 2 8864 6510
robert.southern@nera.com
Dr. Paul Bernstein Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9216 paul.bernstein@nera.com
Rebecca Billings Associate Director Melbourne +61 3 9623 5201 rebecca.billings@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Patrick Breslin Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9259 pat.breslin@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Vice President New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Associate Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Amparo Nieto Vice President Los Angeles +1 213 346 3041 amparo.nieto@nera.com
Daniel Radov Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Dr. Bernard Reddy Vice President Boston +1 617 927 4535 bernard.reddy@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Alon Carmel Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8628 alon.carmel@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Marta Moro Crespo Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 32 marta.moro@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Principal Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Alex Richardson Senior Consultant Melbourne +61 3 9623 5158 alex.richardson@nera.com
Dr. Mei Yuan Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9210 mei.yuan@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. W. David Montgomery Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9294 W.David.Montgomery.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
UK Renewable Subsidies and Whole System Costs Report By Daniel Radov and Alon Carmel
Potential Electricity and Energy Price Outcomes under EPA’s Federal Plan Alternatives... Report By Dr. David Harrison Jr., Dr. Anne E. Smith, Scott Bloomberg, Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar, Dr. Elizabeth Walker, and Preston White
Can’t Get No Satisfaction? Measuring Economic Wellbeing Under the RMA Published Article By Kevin Counsell
Technical Comments on the Social Cost of Methane As Used in the Regulatory Impact Ana... Report By Dr. Anne Smith, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, and Scott Bloomberg
Testimony Before US House Science Committee on EPA’s Final CPP Rule Testimony By Dr. Anne Smith
Energy and Consumer Impacts of EPA’s Clean Power Plan Study By Dr. David Harrison, Dr. Anne Smith, Scott Bloomberg, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, Dr. Elizabeth Walker, and Preston White
Economic Impacts of a Proposed 65 ppb National Ambient Air Quality Standard for Ozone... Report By Dr. Anne E. Smith, Scott Bloomberg, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, and Julia Greenberger
Economic Impacts Resulting from Implementation of the RFS2 Program Report By Robert Baron, Dr. Paul Bernstein, Alyssa Lipshultz, Dr. W. David Montgomery, and Dr. Mei Yuan
Effects of Moving the Compliance Obligation under RFS2 to Suppliers of Finished Produ... Report Robert Baron, Dr. Paul Bernstein, Alyssa Lipshultz, Dr. W. David Montgomery, and Dr. Timothy Watts
Going, Going, Gone–Timeline of an Innovative Auction That Aims to Reduce Methane Emis... Published Article