Environmental Economics

Cost-Benefit Analysis

Cost-Benefit Analysis

Government agencies often evaluate the costs and benefits of new regulatory proposals. Careful cost-benefit or cost-effectiveness analysis is crucial to designing efficient and effective regulations related to the environment, health, safety, and other issues. Economic analysis also provides a valuable tool to companies and trade associations seeking to participate in the process of developing new regulations.

NERA has extensive experience in performing cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses for both the public and private sectors. In addition to air quality and water quality, our areas of experience include biofuels, chemicals, hazardous waste, sprinklers, flood protection, hard rock mining, and occupational health and safety, as well as the overall costs and benefits of a range of proposed climate change policies and other regulations. We have performed studies for businesses anticipating potential regulation, and we have submitted detailed comments to government agencies on regulatory proposals. In many cases these efforts have led to changes in regulatory approach. NERA has presented analysis results to government agencies, including the US Office of Management and Budget, the US EPA, and the UK Department of Energy and Climate Change, as well as to courts, the media, and the general public.

With our academic qualifications and regulatory expertise, NERA has the credibility to perform and assess cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses for government and business on a wide range of issues. The models and analytical tools we frequently apply in this area include economic impacts models and non-market valuation techniques.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Dr. Paul Bernstein Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9216 paul.bernstein@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. William Baker Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8520 bill.baker.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. W. David Montgomery Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9294 w.david.montgomery.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Michael Spackman Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8660 michael.spackman.affiliate@nera.com