Environmental Economics

Emissions and Effluent Trading, Credits, and Offsets

Emissions and Effluent Trading, Credits, and Offsets

NERA has extensive experience in air emissions and effluent trading, credit, and offset programs. We have participated actively in the development and evaluation of virtually all the major air emissions trading programs and proposals, including:

  • Acid Rain Trading Program for the US;
  • NOx Budget Trading Program in the Northeast US;
  • Regional Clean Air Incentives Market (RECLAIM) in California’s South Coast Air Basin;
  • Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI) in the Northeast US;
  • Clean Air Interstate Rule (CAIR) limiting SO2 and NOX emissions in the US;
  • Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) in the US;
  • California's AB 32 climate bill;
  • Averaging, banking, and trading programs for mobile sources in the US; and
  • Trading programs proposals in Canada and Europe.

NERA personnel have served on advisory committees developing programs and have developed deep expertise on design and other elements that are crucial for successful implementation.

With our experience in developing cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness assessments and our expertise in designing and evaluating emissions and effluent programs, NERA can help governments address air quality issues efficiently and effectively through market-based policies. NERA experts can help companies analyze the cost-effectiveness of alternative proposals and allow them to provide inputs into the policy development process. NERA has applied a range of models and analytical tools in this area, including sector-specific abatement cost models and allowance price forecasting models.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Alon Carmel Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8628 alon.carmel@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. W. David Montgomery Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9294 w.david.montgomery.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Michael Spackman Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8660 michael.spackman.affiliate@nera.com