Environmental Economics

Environmental Litigation

Environmental Litigation

NERA has extensive experience translating environmental claims for alleged harm to health and value into the objective, quantitative, monetary values required by courts and regulators to determine appropriate damages awards.

The analysis, reports, and expert testimony our experts provide to courts and arbitration and regulatory bodies include rigorous, defensible measures of the value of damages. We provide careful, independent valuation of the actual damages incurred, or the changes to processes or remediation efforts that may be taken.

We are skilled in identifying and critiquing the benefit ("BEN") model used by the US EPA and have successfully challenged values initially generated by this model.

We use the full range of techniques for assessing environmental liability, including:

  • Statistics and econometrics;
  • Epidemiology and health effects;
  • Property value determination;
  • Hedonic pricing techniques;
  • Contingent valuation and surveys;
  • Financial analysis; and
  • Cost-benefit analysis.
Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Dr. Paul Bernstein Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9216 paul.bernstein@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. William Baker Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8520 bill.baker.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. W. David Montgomery Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9294 w.david.montgomery.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Michael Spackman Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8660 michael.spackman.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Estimating Employment Impacts of Regulations: A Review of EPA's Methods for Its Air R... Report By Dr. Anne E. Smith et al.
Economic Outcomes of a US Carbon Tax Report By Dr. Anne E. Smith, Dr. David Harrison, Dr. W. David Montgomery, Dr. Paul Bernstein, Scott Bloomberg, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, et al.
Economic Implications of Recent and Anticipated EPA Regulations Affecting the Electri... Report By Dr. David Harrison, Dr. Anne E. Smith, Scott Bloomberg, Andrew Locke, Meredith McPhail, Reshma Patel, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, et al.
Understanding the Balancing Challenge Report By Sean Gammons and Richard Druce with Goran Strbac, Marko Aunedi, Danny Pudjianto, and Predrag Djapic of Imperial College London
NERA Testimony on The American Energy Initiative -- A Focus on EPA's New Proposal to ... Testimony By Dr. Anne E. Smith
Analyzing the Changing US Carbon Policy Landscape Working Paper By Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar, Scott Bloomberg, et al.
An Economic Impact Analysis of EPA’s Mercury and Air Toxics Standards Rule Working Paper By Dr. Anne E. Smith, Dr. Paul Bernstein, Scott Bloomberg, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, et al.
NERA Testimony on 'The American Energy Initiative – A Focus on What EPA’s Utility MAC... Testimony By Dr. Anne E. Smith
The Demand for Greenhouse Gas Emissions Reduction Investments: An Investors' Marginal... Report By Daniel Radov, Per Klevnas, Martina Lindovska, and Adil Hanif with Bloomberg New Energy Finance and Global Carbon