Financial Institutions and Banking

The credit crisis has had profound consequences for financial market participants, precipitating bank failures, litigation, and regulatory reform. Institutions with subprime exposures remain embroiled in litigation, but problems for financial institutions and banks went beyond subprime finance to affect their wider operations. Some directors and officers at the helm of institutions that failed now face FDIC suits. More generally, changes in regulation and supervision of financial services are affecting institutions across the board. Complying with these new regulations requires significant changes in the way financial services firms operate.

NERA works with financial institutions in both litigation and business contexts, providing economic and financial consulting and expert testimony. Our finance experts have had hands-on experience working at government regulatory bodies such as the Federal Reserve, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, the Federal Trade Commission, the International Monetary Fund, and the President’s Working Group on Financial Markets. NERA experts have also worked for leading financial services firms, including Bank of America, Barclays, Banque Paribas, CS First Boston, Morgan Stanley, and Merrill Lynch. NERA’s experience and expertise make the firm a leader in the core capabilities that are critical to helping financial institutions operate in the new competitive environment and manage emerging regulatory and enforcement challenges.
  
NERA assists with issues surrounding:

  • Risk management practices
  • Valuation of financial products including complex derivatives and securities, regulatory examinations and investigations
  • FDIC professional liability litigation against failed bank directors and officers
  • Securities litigation
  • Complex commercial disputes
  • Forensic accounting, including proper application of accounting rules
  • Bankruptcy

We provide advice and training, including design and implementation of models needed to comply with rules and regulations, assessments of business lines and functions before regulatory examinations, and assistance to firms in responding to examinations.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Securities and Finance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Tomas Haug Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Amanda Pletz Associate Director London
Geneva
+44 20 7659 8528
+41 22 819 94 94
amanda.pletz@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
Gary Lambert Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8652 gary.lambert@nera.com
Ralph Meghames Principal Paris +33 1 70 75 01 89 ralph.meghames@nera.com
Georgi Tsvetkov Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9237 georgi.tsvetkov@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Jerry Arnold Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 310 570 3982 JArnold@marshall.usc.edu
Dr. James Overdahl Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC +1 202 547 3035 joverdahl@deltastrat.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 robert.mackay.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
PDVSA’s Peculiar Oct. ’22 Bond May Carry Elevated Risks Report By Timothy McKenna and Raphael Starr
Securities Class Actions: 2016 Full-Year Review and Mid-2017 Flash Update Published Article By Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
BSA/AML Compliance and Enforcement: An Update for the Securities and Derivatives Indu... Published Article By. Sharon Brown-Hruska
Not All MBS Settlements Are Equal White Paper By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
Trends in Regulatory Enforcement in UK Financial Markets 2015/16 Year-End Report Report By Robert Patton and Erin McHugh et al
Trends in Regulatory Enforcement in UK Financial Markets 2015/16 Mid-Year Report Report By Robert Patton et al
Review of the White House Report Titled, "The Effects of Conflicted Investment Advice... Working Paper By Dr. Jeremy Berkowitz and Dr. Patrick Conroy et al.
On Retail Forex, Regulators Have Failed To Reach Far Enough Published Article By Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska