Financial Risk Management

As risk management has become a critical part of strategic planning, businesses are recognizing the need to evaluating the “risk landscape” of their firm in the aggregate, rather than just measuring and managing individual risks one at a time. With extensive professional experience in risk analysis and risk management techniques, NERA's Financial Risk Management experts are well versed in modeling, analyzing, and communicating the effects of combined risks to financial and non-financial institutions. Our experts assist clients in measuring individual risk exposures and aggregating these risks across risk factors and business units, taking into account correlations and diversification effects, to measure their combined effect on performance measures such as earnings-at-risk or cash-flow-at-risk. Clients benefit by having an improved quantification of the risks they face, a better assessment of the impact of their risk transfer activities -- hedging and insurance -- on their overall risk, more precise contingency planning, and more accurate budgeting and financial planning.

NERA experts are recognized as thought leaders in the field of risk management, and have a distinct ability to evaluate the trends that are likely to represent the best practices of tomorrow. NERA's experts have assisted various industry bodies, such as the Group of Thirty, the International Swaps and Derivatives Association, and the Treasury Management Association, in developing risk management principles and evaluating best practices.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Drew Claxton Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 3442 drew.claxton@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Georgi Tsvetkov Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9237 georgi.tsvetkov@nera.com
Dr. James Overdahl Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC +1 202 547 3035 joverdahl@deltastrat.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 robert.mackay.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
What Do the New Risk Retention Requirements of the Dodd-Frank Act Mean for Securitiza... Working Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry
Effective Dispute Resolution: Roundtable Published Article A roundtable with Dr. Steven Schwartz
Why 'Too Big to Fail' is Too Short-Sighted to Succeed: Problems with Reliance on Firm... Report By Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska, Dr. Robert Mackay, and Dr. John Bovenzi of Oliver Wyman Group, et al.
An Update on the Credit Crisis Litigation: A Turn Towards Structured Products and Ass... White Paper Dr. Faten Sabry, et al.
Study of the Impact of Securitization on Consumers, Investors, Financial Institutions... Study By Dr. Faten Sabry and Dr. Chudozie Okongwu
How Did We Get Here? The Story of the Credit Crisis Published Article By Dr. Faten Sabry and Dr. Chudozie Okongwu
Financial Disclosure and SFAS 157: Seeking Transparency in a Perfect Storm Published Article By Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska with former NERA Vice President Shuchi Satwah
FCPA Settlements: It's a Small World After All Working Paper By Raymund Wong and Dr. Patrick Conroy
The Use of Economic Analysis in Predatory Lending Cases: Application to Subprime Loan... Published Article By Dr. Denise Neumann Martin, Dr. Stephanie Plancich, and Dr. Faten Sabry