Health Care and Life Sciences

NERA's Global Health Care Practice covers the full range of litigation, regulatory/reform, public policy, and business strategy questions that arise in this complex industry. Our health economists have analyzed hundreds of mergers involving hospitals, health insurers, physicians, pharmaceuticals, and medical device companies. Many of these mergers have been reviewed by both US and European antitrust authorities. Our litigation experience covers antitrust issues such as monopolization, price fixing, unfair methods of competition, exclusive dealing, and other vertical restraints issues, such as those posed by integrated health care systems.

NERA also has extensive experience in patent valuation and litigation relating to various medical devices and processes. In the area of public policy, our economists in the US and Europe have worked with governments as well as purchasers and providers of health care around the world to create competitive markets, develop alternative administrative strategies, and enact realistic health care reforms that can improve both the efficiency and the fairness of health systems around the world. We have also analyzed such topics as intellectual property protection, parallel trade of pharmaceuticals, and health care. Our work has been used by organizations such as the European Commission, World Trade Organization, and US Trade Representatives to improve the environment for pharmaceutical research and development.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Managing Director
Health Care Practice Chair
Los Angeles +1 213 346 3005 thomas.mccarthy@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Robert Southern Managing Director Melbourne
Sydney
+61 3 9623 5135
+61 2 8864 6510
robert.southern@nera.com
David Monk Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4001 david.monk@nera.com
Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan Associate Director New York City
Los Angeles
+1 212 345 0745
+1 213 346 3038
subbu.ramanarayanan@nera.com
Grant Saggers Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Alex Richardson Senior Consultant Melbourne +61 3 9623 5158 alex.richardson@nera.com
Dr. Paul Wong Senior Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3026 paul.wong@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Consultant Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Title Type Author
Paper Trail: Review of a Recent Working Paper on the Effect of Copay Coupons on Drug ... Published Article The Antitrust Source
Diversion Analysis as Applied to Hospital Mergers: A Primer Published Article By Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan
A Profile of Professor Martin S. Gaynor (Director, FTC Bureau of Economics) Published Article By Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan
High Court Brings Economics Back To Pay-For-Delay Analysis Published Article By Dr. Sumanth Addanki, Dr. Alan Daskin, and Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer
An Inside Look at Monopsony Issues in the FTC's Express Scripts-Medco Merger Investig... Published Article By John Scalf with Rani Habash of Dechert LLP
How Much Does that Medication Cost? A Study of Medicare Beneficiaries' Knowledge of O... Study By Dr. Eugene Ericksen and Melissa Pittaoulis
An Analysis of Price Effects from Drug Shortages for Independent Pharmacies and the P... Working Paper By Dr. Graeme Hunter
Generic Utilization Rates, Real Pharmaceutical Prices, and Research and Development E... Working Paper By Dr. Graeme Hunter with Dr. John Vernon and Dr. Joseph Cook
The Future Costs, Risks, and Rewards of Drug Development: The Economics of Pharmacoge... Published Article By Dr. Graeme Hunter with Dr. John Vernon and Dr. Joseph Cook
A NERA Briefing: Expert Workshop on HTA Brief