Insurance

Insurance Industry Class Certification and Class Actions

Insurance Industry Class Certification and Class Actions

Property casualty insurers have faced policyholder class actions relating to coverage and claims settlement disputes, as well as class action lawsuits regarding labor rates from auto body repair shops. Life insurers have faced policyholder class actions regarding sales methods, asset management, disclosures, and contract pricing revisions covering life insurance, annuities, and long-term care policies. Health insurers have faced policyholder allegations of deceptive advertising, improper denial of coverage, and improper limitation of coverage, as well as health services provider allegations of improper claims handling and payment practices. The class certification stage typically involves questions of class definition, common impact, and formulaic approaches to damages. Class action litigation often involves issues of liability and damages.

NERA insurance experts combine deep industry knowledge with expertise in economics, finance, statistics, and accounting to address insurance-related class action litigation. In the class certification stage, many disputes require a thorough understanding of the insurance contracts and processes, and work with samples of policyholders or samples of claim files. NERA’s experts have experience in generating random samples, extracting information from claims files, and working with claims file data on class certification issues. In damages analyses, NERA has the capability to work with large data sets and combine data from different sources. Our experts have the quantitative skills to calculate damages for insurance products including complex financial products and, when needed, we have experience working with actuaries and other claims experts.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Senior Vice President Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 212 345 2687
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut@nera.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer@nera.com
Dr. John Montgomery Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5411 john.montgomery@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Vice President Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director London
New York City
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Vice President New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com

Your Search did not return any results.