Intellectual Property

NERA is widely recognized as a leading provider of expertise in the economics of intellectual property (IP). We apply rigorous economic analysis in IP disputes to determine damages in connection with infringement and breach-of-contract claims involving patents, trademarks, copyrights, and trade secrets, and to address such issues as irreparable harm, the commercial success of a patent, and the impact of claimed false or misleading advertising. We value IP in connection with selling or licensing negotiations, preparing required transfer pricing documentation, obtaining advance approval from a tax authority for the price of a particular trade flow or resolving a tax controversy. We help our clients identify portions of their IP portfolios that have value, develop strategies to manage risk, and use their IP for strategic advantage in the marketplace. We also have broad experience with a range of survey techniques that can help determine, for example, the value of trade secrets, brand names, trade dress, and product claims in company advertising. Our understanding of the operation of markets across industries where IP plays a role allows us to prepare and present accurate and defensible analyses in these assignments.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Sarah Butler Managing Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1022 sarah.butler@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Beijing
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Emmanuel Llinares Managing Director
Head of Global Transfer Pricing
Paris
Geneva
London
+33 1 70 75 01 93
+41 22 819 94 94
+44 20 7659 8650
emmanuel.llinares@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Kent Van Liere Managing Director Denver
San Francisco
+1 303 357 4782
+1 415 291 1010
kent.van.liere@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Richard J. Eichmann Director San Francisco
Los Angeles
+1 415 291 1033
+1 213 346 3009
richard.eichmann@nera.com
Sébastien Gonnet Director Paris
Geneva
+ 33 1 45 02 30 00
+41 22 819 94 94
sebastien.gonnet@nera.com
Dr. Stuart L. Harshbarger Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4185 stuart.harshbarger@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Kristopher A. Boushie Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9282 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Philip de Homont Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 502 philip.de.homont@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth Newlon Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3019 elizabeth.newlon@nera.com
Dr. Melissa Pittaoulis Associate Director Philadelphia +1 215 864 3879 melissa.pittaoulis@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Bernard Reddy Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4535 bernard.reddy@nera.com
Nathan Blalock Senior Consultant Houston +1 832 871 5744 nathan.blalock@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Principal Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dr. Naoya Kaneko Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3294 naoya.kaneko@nera.com
Dr. John Scalf Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2828 john.scalf@nera.com
Dr. Nadia Soboleva Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1018 nadia.soboleva@nera.com
Healey Whitsett Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9202 healey.whitsett@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Bryan Tomlin Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 805 284 1811 bryan.tomlin@csuci.edu
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 212 345 2687
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Limited Role of Analytical Approach to Reasonable Royalty Published Article Dr. Alan Cox
Using Citation Analysis to Value Patents Published Article Dr. Alan Cox
Valuing Intellectual Property in Bankruptcy Published Article By Kristopher Boushie
Off The Wagon Published Article By Dr. Alan Cox
25 Percent, 50 Percent ... What is in a Number? Presentation By Dr. David Blackburn
Standard Setting: Should There Be a Level Playing Field for All FRAND Commitments? Published Article By Dr. Nadia Soboleva and Dr. Lawrence Wu
High Court Brings Economics Back To Pay-For-Delay Analysis Published Article By Dr. Sumanth Addanki, Dr. Alan Daskin, and Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer
How To Get The Most Out Of Your Statistical Sampler Published Article By Dr. Eugene Ericksen
Apportionment Treats The Symptom, Not The Disease Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey et al.
Geistiges Eigentum (Intellectual Property) Book By Dr. Alexander Voegele