Intellectual Property

Antitrust Counterclaims

Antitrust Counterclaims

NERA's IP experts often work on issues at the intersection of antitrust and IP law, and we apply rigorous analytical techniques to questions of market definition, competitive injury, and damages in these matters. Our experts have experience analyzing a wide range of industries and have presented economic analyses in legal and regulatory proceedings involving antitrust counterclaims, as well as antitrust issues relating to standard setting, licensing, and issues surrounding the value of IP acquired in mergers. We are frequently retained to assess both liability issues (e.g., market definition, market power, likelihood of anticompetitive effects) and damages in connection with antitrust claims. Our experts stay up-to-date with IP and antitrust developments around the world, in particular with rapidly evolving developments within the pharmaceutical and technology sectors.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9227 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Disputed Issues in Awarding Unjust Enrichment Damages in Trade Secret Cases Published Article NERA Managing Director Dr. Alan Cox and David S. Almeling, Walter Bratic, Monte Cooper, and P. Anthony Sammi
Unpacking the Economic Toolbox: How to Make Sense of Your Economic Expert’s Analysis Published Article By Sheng Li, Christine Meyer and Gabriella Monahova
The Limited Role of Analytical Approach to Reasonable Royalty Published Article Dr. Alan Cox
Economics of Antitrust: Complex Issues In a Dynamic Economy Book Edited by Dr. Lawrence Wu
Economic Approaches to Intellectual Property Policy, Litigation, and Management Book Edited by Dr. Lauren Stiroh et al.
Grasping the Value of Intangible Assets: An Economic Approach to SFAS Nos. 141 and 14... Published Article By Bryan Ray et al
The Relevant Market in IP and Antitrust Litigation Published Article By Dr. Lauren Stiroh with Dr. Alyssa Lutz
Standard Setting and Market Power Report By Dr. Richard Rapp and Dr. Lauren Stiroh
Standard Setting, Market Power and IP Value Presentation By Dr. Lauren Stiroh
The Antitrust Counterclaim and Patent Damages: The Economic Relationship Report By Dr. Sumanth Addanki