Intellectual Property

Copyright Infringement

Copyright Infringement

NERA is frequently retained to assess damages in copyright infringement matters. In these types of cases, we may calculate the plaintiff's actual loss and/or the defendant's unjust enrichment from the alleged infringement. NERA economists evaluate alternatives to the alleged behavior, taking into account other relevant factors that may influence consumers’ purchase decisions, to provide accurate assessments of the incremental value of the copyrighted work(s). In so doing, our experts isolate the market effects of the specific claims at issue through a careful analysis of company data and documents, market information, and survey and statistical analyses.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Eugene Ericksen Affiliated Academic Philadelphia +1 215 864 3878 eugene.ericksen.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Limited Role of Analytical Approach to Reasonable Royalty Published Article Dr. Alan Cox
2 Economists' Take On i4i v. Microsoft Published Article By Dr. Alan Cox et al.
A Brief Comment on the Damages Provisions in the Patent Reform Act of 2009 Brief By Dr. Alan Cox, and Bryan Ray, et al.
Intellectual Property Rights Protection in China: Trends in Litigation and Economic D... Working Paper By Dr. Alan Cox and former NERA Senior Consultant Kristina Sepetys
The Patent Reform Act Published Article By Bryan Ray
Assessing the Damages Provisions in the Patent Reform Act of 2007 Roundtable Discussion A roundtable discussion with Dr. Alan Cox, and Bryan Ray; moderated by Dr. Marion Stewart
Where's the Economics Behind Lucent v. Gateway et al.? Working Paper By Dr. David Blackburn et al.
Intellectual Property Rights Protection in China: Litigation, Economic Damages, and C... Published Article By Dr. Alan Cox with former NERA Senior Consultant Kristina Sepetys
An Economic Approach to the 'Balance of Hardships' and 'Public Interest' Tests for Pr... Working Paper By Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh et al.
Modern Methods For the Valuation of Intellectual Property Report By Drs. Richard Rapp and Lauren Stiroh