Intellectual Property

IP Damages Analyses

IP Damages Analyses

Firms may become involved a variety of IP disputes involving possible damages, including infringement claims, breaches of contract, malpractice claims, antitrust counterclaims, and pricing disputes. NERA’s IP experts have assessed damages flowing from the alleged behavior in each of those types of cases. Our analyses include assessments of lost profits on lost sales, price erosion, reasonable royalties, unjust enrichment, and lost business value. NERA has extensive experience determining damages in connection with claims involving patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets, and false and misleading advertising. 

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Limited Role of Analytical Approach to Reasonable Royalty Published Article Dr. Alan Cox
Apportionment Treats The Symptom, Not The Disease Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey et al.
25 Percent, 50 Percent...What's In A Number? Published Article By Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer and Dr. David Blackburn
Recurring Themes on Reasonable Royalties in Recent IP United States Damage Cases Working Paper By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey and Dr. Alan Cox with former NERA economist Gregory Leonard
The Demise Of Junk Science And The 25% Rule Published Article By Dr. Alan Cox et al.
Groundhog Day: Recurring Themes on Reasonable Royalties in Recent IP Damage Cases Working Paper By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey and Dr. Alan Cox with former NERA economist Dr. Gregory K. Leonard
A Brief Comment on the Damages Provisions in the Patent Reform Act of 2009 Brief By Dr. Alan Cox, and Bryan Ray, et al.
Assessing the Damages Provisions in the Patent Reform Act of 2007 Roundtable Discussion A roundtable discussion with Dr. Alan Cox, and Bryan Ray; moderated by Dr. Marion Stewart
Reasonable Royalties After eBay Published Article By Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer and Dr. David Blackburn
Where's the Economics Behind Lucent v. Gateway et al.? Working Paper By Dr. David Blackburn et al.