Intellectual Property

Irreparable Harm

Irreparable Harm

NERA economists help to determine whether an IP owner may suffer "irreparable harm" caused by the sales of an infringing product. NERA has evaluated the extent to which a patent owner's damages can be calculated (to a reasonable degree of certainty) between the time of the case filing and trial. To the extent that such damages cannot be entirely or reasonably quantified, or would likely be considered speculative by the trial court, the patent owner may be able to make a legal showing of irreparable harm and, in so doing, obtain an injunction.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Limited Role of Analytical Approach to Reasonable Royalty Published Article Dr. Alan Cox
Don't Feed the Trolls? Published Article By Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer et al.
An Economic Approach to the 'Balance of Hardships' and 'Public Interest' Tests for Pr... Working Paper By Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh et al.