Intellectual Property

Patent Damages

Patent Damages

A patent owner may believe that another company has taken its patented technology without permission. NERA experts often are asked to assess the economic damages to the patent owner caused by the claimed infringement. We assess and have testified to lost profits from lost sales, price erosion, and reasonable royalty damages. Our experts stay up-to-date with IP damages case law, in particular with rapidly evolving developments within the pharmaceutical and technology sectors.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Eugene Ericksen Affiliated Academic Philadelphia +1 215 864 3878 eugene.ericksen.affiliate@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Limited Role of Analytical Approach to Reasonable Royalty Published Article Dr. Alan Cox
25 Percent, 50 Percent ... What is in a Number? Presentation By Dr. David Blackburn
High Court Brings Economics Back To Pay-For-Delay Analysis Published Article By Dr. Sumanth Addanki, Dr. Alan Daskin, and Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer
Apportionment Treats The Symptom, Not The Disease Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey et al.
25 Percent, 50 Percent...What's In A Number? Published Article By Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer and Dr. David Blackburn
The 25 Percent Rule in Patent Damages: Dead and Now Buried Working Paper By Dr. David Blackburn et al.
Making Sense of 'Apportionment' in Patent Damages Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey et al.
Recurring Themes on Reasonable Royalties in Recent IP United States Damage Cases Working Paper By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey and Dr. Alan Cox with former NERA economist Gregory Leonard
Meeting The New Standard For Reasonable Royalties Published Article By Sarah Butler et al.
Three Cases Reshaping Patent Licensing Practice Published Article By Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey and Dr. Alan Cox with former NERA economist Dr. Gregory K. Leonard