International Arbitration

International arbitration is fast becoming the preferred method of resolving cross-border disputes of all types. Over the last decade, the number of international arbitration proceedings has grown dramatically -- and so too has the complexity and value of those disputes, which often require increasingly sophisticated economic analysis and advice.

NERA’s international arbitration experts are recognized leaders in providing the level of economic support required in today’s arbitration cases. Drawing on decades of extensive litigation experience, combined with deep expertise in regulated and competitive markets, our economists have helped law firms and companies navigate a wide range of disputes in various arbitration venues.

We have a reputation for objectivity and independent economic and financial analyses and expert reports. Our team of experts has conducted numerous damage and compensation analyses using sophisticated financial modeling techniques; interpreted regulatory decisions; valued contractual rights; and determined the expropriatory impact of government decisions on specific investments. NERA experts have testified in arbitration proceedings under all of the major institutional and procedural rules, including:

  • International Chamber of Commerce
  • International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
  • London Court of International Arbitration
  • American Arbitration Association

We also have substantial industry-based and regional institutional experience, including:

  • Financial Industry Regulatory Authority
  • Japan Commercial Arbitration Association
  • Lands Tribunal
  • New York Stock Exchange
  • National Association of Securities Dealers
  • Vienna International Arbitral Centre of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber
Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Senior Vice President
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Beijing
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Senior Vice President
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
Geneva
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
+41 22 819 94 94
christian.dippon@nera.com
Sean Gammons Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Glenn R. George Senior Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9284 glenn.george@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Fabrizio Hernández Director Madrid
London
Rome
+34 91 521 0020
+44 20 7659 8500
+39 06 488 8101
fabrizio.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Senior Vice President
Co-Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Emmanuel Llinares Director
Head of Global Transfer Pricing
Paris
Geneva
London
+33 1 70 75 01 93
+41 22 819 94 94
+44 20 7659 8650
emmanuel.llinares@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Senior Vice President Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Senior Vice President New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Antoinette (Toni) Pincott Senior Vice President London +44 20 7659 8576 toni.pincott@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Senior Vice President
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Senior Vice President
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust & Competition Practice
White Plains, NY
Toronto
+1 914 448 4143
+1 914 448 4143
lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Kristopher A. Boushie Vice President Washington, DC +1 202 466 9282 Kristopher.Boushie@nera.com
Tomas Haug Associate Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director London
New York City
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Daniel Radov Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
George Anstey Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Jorge Baez Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5753 jorge.baez@nera.com
Willis Geffert Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Principal Frankfurt
Berlin
+49 69 710 447 504
+49 30 700 1506 01
bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Principal Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Senior Consultant Berlin
London
Rome
+49 30 700 1506 30
+44 20 7659 8586
+39 06 488 8101
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Clara Segurola Principal London +44 20 7659 8606 Clara.Segurola@nera.com
Dr. Carlo Scarpa Affiliated Academic Rome +39 06 488 8101 carlo.scarpa@nera.com
Nigel Attenborough Affiliated Industry Expert London 44 20 7659 8514 nigel.attenborough.affiliate@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 212 345 2687
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 robert.mackay.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alexander Voegele Affiliated Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 501 alexander.voegele@nera.com
Title Type Author
International Arbitration in Regulated and Related Businesses: Why Hire Economists? Brief By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, Dr. Michael Rosenzweig, and Graham Shuttleworth with former NERA Vice President Dr. Leonardo Giacchino