Labor and Employment

Labor Economic Loss/Damages

Labor Economic Loss/Damages

NERA economists have calculated economic damages for one or more plaintiffs in cases alleging discrimination, wrongful termination, personal injury, or wrongful death where liability has been established. Our experts recognize that accurate calculations require knowledge of each plaintiff's individual situation, as well as that of the defendant. Too often, loss estimates based on generalities and economy-wide trends are substituted for information specific to the parties involved.

NERA's approach to finding the correct amount of each plaintiff's economic damages is based on accumulating all information necessary to accurately model earnings but-for the alleged wrongful conduct and the expected earnings given such conduct. Use of such information allows us to develop realistic assumptions about expected earnings growth patterns and the tenure of workforce participation. We understand that actual earnings following events such as an alleged wrongful termination may not reflect expected earnings for a similar-situation employee. To generate a reliable estimate, our economists pioneered a method of assessing the reasonableness of plaintiffs' efforts to mitigate their losses. We have submitted expert reports and testified about economic damages at trial, providing clear descriptions of the complex statistical analyses that may be required in these cases.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Jon Wainwright Managing Director Austin
Chicago
+1 512 383 4802
+1 312 573 2800
jon.wainwright@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth Newlon Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3019 elizabeth.newlon@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2017 Update Report Mary Elizabeth C. Stern and Lucy P. Allen
Title Date Type
NERA Economic Consulting Opens Office in Miami, Florida 14 November 2017 Press Release