Life Sciences

NERA is a pioneer in the field of economic and statistical analysis for clients in the global life sciences industry.  We are collaborating with law firms, pharmaceutical companies, medical device manufacturers, and diagnostic firms to address complex issues raised by legal disputes and regulatory challenges, devise strategies to manage tax burdens across jurisdictions, value liabilities, and advise firms on a range of economic issues related to life sciences.

Clients choose NERA because our experts have a strong history of providing independent, insightful, and comprehensive analysis and guidance in the pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical device, and diagnostics industries. We work with the world’s top law firms, life sciences companies, regulators, tax authorities, and other entities to:

  • Determine the value of patents and other intellectual property, and advise firms in license negotiations
  • Consult on economic issues involving patent, product liability, mass tort, false claims, breach of contract, antitrust, securities, and trade secrets litigation, including forecasting future liabilities
  • Develop strategies to manage national and global tax exposure and address inquiries from tax authorities
  • Address competition and antitrust issues arising as part of reviews being undertaken by state, national, and global authorities, and from private litigation
  • Provide advice and expert analysis in the class certification, liability, and damages phases of antitrust, securities, and product liability class actions
  • Assist in corporate bankruptcies, complex commercial litigation, business valuations, and other securities matters
  • Respond to financial market abuse investigations and defend against enforcement actions in alleged violations of anti-corruption, fraud, and securities laws

Please visit the firm's health care web page for additional information on our extensive background in life sciences mergers, antitrust, and complex litigation.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Sarah Butler Managing Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1022 sarah.butler@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Managing Director
Health Care Practice Chair
Los Angeles +1 213 346 3005 thomas.mccarthy@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Richard J. Eichmann Director San Francisco
Los Angeles
+1 415 291 1033
+1 213 346 3009
richard.eichmann@nera.com
Sébastien Gonnet Director Paris + 33 1 45 02 30 00 sebastien.gonnet@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Mary Elizabeth C. Stern Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4054 mary.elizabeth.stern@nera.com
Kristopher A. Boushie Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9282 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Jennifer Cascone Fauver Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 jennifer.fauver@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Philip de Homont Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 502 philip.de.homont@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Melissa Pittaoulis Associate Director Philadelphia +1 215 864 3879 melissa.pittaoulis@nera.com
Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan Associate Director New York City
Los Angeles
+1 212 345 0745
+1 213 346 3038
subbu.ramanarayanan@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Vladimir Starkov Associate Director Chicago +1 312 573 2806 vladimir.starkov@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Senior Consultant/Principal Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4153 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Ralph Meghames Principal Paris +33 1 70 75 01 89 ralph.meghames@nera.com
Dr. Omar Robles Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4057 omar.robles@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Healey Whitsett Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9202 healey.whitsett@nera.com
Dr. Paul Wong Senior Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3026 paul.wong@nera.com
Dr. Claire Xie Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4105 claire.xie@nera.com

Your Search did not return any results.