Product Liability and Mass Torts

Insurance Coverage and Allocation Consulting

Insurance Coverage and Allocation Consulting

Product liability and mass tort claims give rise to a number of issues for insurance companies, lawyers specializing in insurance law, and companies with insurance assets. NERA experts bring together the required disciplines--including economics, statistics, epidemiological modeling, computer programming, accounting, and insurance modelling--to address the complex insurance allocation and valuation problems that arise in these matters.

Experts in NERA's Product Liability and Mass Torts Practice have extensive experience in allocating the historical as well as projected liabilities to appropriate insurance policies and have developed computer programs to value insurance assets and forecast insurance recoveries quickly and efficiently.

Our experts use their expertise in valuation and forecasting to help companies set reserves and plan for the future, and to aid both companies and insurers with litigation. Successfully resolving litigation and achieving beneficial outcomes in settlements and mediations requires an understanding of the available coverage, the ability to value that coverage, and the expertise to forecast the expected insurance recoveries. We have written expert reports, offered economic testimony, and provided litigation consulting expertise for disputes involving mass tort and product liability claims and the insurance coverage for those claims.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Mary Elizabeth C. Stern Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4054 mary.elizabeth.stern@nera.com
Drew Claxton Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 3442 drew.claxton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Title Type Author
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2017 Update Report Mary Elizabeth C. Stern and Lucy P. Allen
Asbestos: Economic Assessment of Bans and Declining Production and Consumption Report By Lucy P. Allen, Mary Elizabeth C. Stern, Jorge Baez, and Frank George
The Economic Impact Of New MMSEA Regulations Published Article By Dr. Denise Neumann Martin, Dr. Stephanie Plancich, and Mary Elizabeth Stern