Product Liability and Mass Torts

Quantifying Medicare Section 111 Costs

Quantifying Medicare Section 111 Costs

NERA's statistical and epidemiological analysis can help companies comply with the new Medicare reporting standards under Section 111 of the Medicare, Medicaid, and SCHIP Extension Act of 2007 (MMSEA). More specifically, we can estimate the portion of aggregate indemnity payments that are paid to claimants who are also eligible for Medicare reimbursement, and the likely amounts of this Medicare reimbursement. Such an analysis incorporates disease progression and mortality. The analysis can be done for payments that have already occurred, as well as for projected future payments. The results of this modeling efforts can allow companies to set aside appropriate reserves.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. Kent Van Liere Managing Director Denver
San Francisco
+1 303 357 4782
+1 415 291 1010
kent.van.liere@nera.com
Mary Elizabeth C. Stern Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4054 mary.elizabeth.stern@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Title Type Author
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2017 Update Report Mary Elizabeth C. Stern and Lucy P. Allen
Asbestos: Economic Assessment of Bans and Declining Production and Consumption Report By Lucy P. Allen, Mary Elizabeth C. Stern, Jorge Baez, and Frank George
The Economic Impact Of New MMSEA Regulations Published Article By Dr. Denise Neumann Martin, Dr. Stephanie Plancich, and Mary Elizabeth Stern