Regulatory Economics

NERA has made many important contributions to both the theory and the practice of regulatory economics over the past half century. This experience is more relevant than ever, as policy makers are increasingly using economic analysis in their assessment of options for the institutional structure and scope of regulation. Economic analysis is especially well suited to the task of designing and reforming regulatory institutions and methods because it is grounded in the principles of welfare maximization through market design. NERA experts, who are well versed in the most up-to-date and relevant research in these areas, use economics to help analyze issues, provide insights, and formulate practical, innovative solutions to a wide range of problems.

Our economists advise public bodies, regulators, and companies on how best to achieve efficiency and financial improvements through restructuring and privatization. We help companies and governments attain fiscal balance through the design of institutional and regulatory frameworks. Expert economic advice is essential for an understanding of the benefits and costs of different policy options, the extent to which industry restructuring is desirable and the need for and most effective forms of regulation. NERA advises regulators, governments, and industry on all these issues. We are also closely associated with what are now characterized as among the world's most successful reform initiatives in the electric utility, water, communications, and transport sectors.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Beijing
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Fabrizio Hernández Managing Director Madrid
London
Rome
+34 91 521 0020
+44 20 7659 8500
+39 06 488 8101
fabrizio.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Kent Van Liere Managing Director Denver
San Francisco
+1 303 357 4782
+1 415 291 1010
kent.van.liere@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Director New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Tomas Haug Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
George Anstey Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Dr. Paul Bernstein Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9216 paul.bernstein@nera.com
Rebecca Billings Associate Director Melbourne +61 3 9623 5201 rebecca.billings@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Richard Druce Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Associate Director San Francisco
Mexico City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 59993110
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Amparo Nieto Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3041 amparo.nieto@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Melissa Pittaoulis Associate Director Philadelphia +1 215 864 3879 melissa.pittaoulis@nera.com
Dr. Kenneth Train Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1023 kenneth.train@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington +64 4 819 2551 kevin.counsell@nera.com
Willis Geffert Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Principal Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Principal Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Alex Richardson Senior Consultant Melbourne +61 3 9623 5158 alex.richardson@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Senior Consultant Berlin
London
Rome
+49 30 700 1506 30
+44 20 7659 8586
+39 06 488 8101
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Clara Segurola Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8606 clara.segurola@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Healey Whitsett Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9202 healey.whitsett@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Eugene Ericksen Affiliated Academic Philadelphia +1 215 864 3878 eugene.ericksen.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Lewis Evans Affiliated Academic Wellington +64 4 474 1320 lew.evans@vuw.ac.nz
Dr. Karl McDermott Affiliated Academic Chicago +1 312 573 2822 karl.mcdermott.affiliate@nera.com
Nigel Attenborough Affiliated Industry Expert London +44 20 7659 8514 nigel.attenborough.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. William Baker Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8520 bill.baker.affiliate@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 dennis.colenutt.affiliate@nera.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. W. David Montgomery Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9294 w.david.montgomery.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Carl Peterson Affiliated Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2802 carl.peterson.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Michael Spackman Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8660 michael.spackman.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Asbestos: Economic Assessment of Bans and Declining Production and Consumption Report By Lucy P. Allen, Mary Elizabeth C. Stern, Jorge Baez, and Frank George
The Cost of Equity for Utilities – An International Perspective Presentation Dr. Richard Hern
Airbnb’s Global Support to Local Economies: Output and Employment Report By Dr. David Harrison Jr., Conor Coughlin, Dylan Hogan, and Eli Shakun
La Regulación de la Economía Colaborativa (Regulation of the Sharing Economy) Book By Bruno Soria
A critical review of Germany’s proposed ROE cut for power and gas networks Regulatory Filing By Tomas Haug, Dominik Huebler, Lorenz Wieshammer, Virginia Sondergeld
Trends in Regulatory Enforcement in UK Financial Markets 2015/16 Year-End Report Report By Robert Patton and Erin McHugh et al
Can’t Get No Satisfaction? Measuring Economic Wellbeing Under the RMA Published Article By Kevin Counsell
Pipeline Capacity Rights to Support a Competitive Gas Market:Theory and Applications Report By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm and Nina Hitchins
Technical Comments on the Social Cost of Methane As Used in the Regulatory Impact Ana... Report By Dr. Anne Smith, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, and Scott Bloomberg
Energy and Consumer Impacts of EPA’s Clean Power Plan Study By Dr. David Harrison, Dr. Anne E. Smith, Scott Bloomberg, Dr. Sugandha Tuladhar, Dr. Elizabeth Walker, and Preston White