Regulatory Economics

Economic Impact Assessments

Economic Impact Assessments

Economic impact analyses are used to evaluate the effects of a facility, industry, investment project, or regulatory policy on a region’s economy. The region of interest for economic impact analyses can be a city, county, state, a group of states, country, or other area. Economic impact analyses are often used to evaluate the future effects of plans and proposals, but they can also be used to measure present or historical effects. Economic impact analyses provide useful information to local policymakers on jobs, population, income, gross regional product, and output. These analyses can supplement cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses to shed light on the local effects of regulations.

NERA has performed economic impact assessments for many regions of the United States, as well as for Europe, the Caribbean, and the Middle East. Our work has included evaluations of power plants, electric transmission infrastructure, industrial facilities, airports, resort complexes, special economic zones, and numerous regulatory policies. NERA has used virtually every major economic impact model, including the state-of-the-art REMI model (developed by Regional Economic Models, Inc.), and the IMPLAN model (developed by the Minnesota IMPLAN Group). These models rely on comprehensive datasets of industrial, economic, and demographic information for specific geographic regions. NERA personnel have communicated the results of their economic impact studies to policymakers, regulatory bodies, the media, and the general public.

NERA has thorough knowledge of the economic theory underlying regional impact modeling as well as the particular industries of interest for each study. Our clients value our economic impact analyses for their credibility and completeness.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Dr. William Baker Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8520 bill.baker.affiliate@nera.com
Michael Spackman Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8660 michael.spackman.affiliate@nera.com