Securities and Finance

NERA is widely recognized as a leading firm in the economics of securities, finance, and commerce. Our experts apply their skills in these areas to assist clients in securities and product liability litigation, commercial disputes, and risk management. We bring to bear a thorough understanding of securities, the markets in which they trade, and the regulatory institutions that govern them.

NERA economists provide answers to difficult questions arising in areas including:

  • Auction-rate securities
  • Class actions and opt-out suits involving individual securities and funds
  • Broker-customer disputes alleging unsuitability and churning
  • Subprime lending
  • Option backdating
  • Allegations of improper trading behavior by specialists or others
  • Mutual fund and brokerage fee reasonableness analyses
  • Market timing and late trading allegations in mutual funds
  • Hedge fund litigation
  • Valuations of fixed income and derivative products
  • Valuations of firms or operating entities
  • Forensic accounting, including proper application of accounting rules
  • Complex commercial disputes
  • Economic analyses of materiality, reliance, and loss causation
  • Market efficiency and tracing analyses
  • Analysis of the fairness of a proposed settlement
  • Measuring costs of illiquidity
  • Bankruptcy and fraudulent conveyance actions
  • Derivative suits
  • Insider trading and manipulation cases
  • Business valuations, including reviews of merger/acquisition due diligence
  • Mispricing and suitability issues
  • Practices such as IPO allocations and markup policies
  • Insurance litigation, including insolvencies and policyholder class actions
  • ERISA actions alleging imprudent investments
  • Employee stock option valuations
  • Supervisory goodwill litigation
  • Evaluation of risk management practices and instruments
  • Strategic consulting for exchanges and securities firms
  • Development of new financial products
  • Impact assessment of proposed regulatory changes

Our experts' knowledge spans equity and commodity markets; US government, corporate, municipal, and mortgage securities; bonds and currencies of global and emerging markets; and warrants, futures, forwards, swaps, options, and other derivatives.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Securities and Finance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Beijing
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
John Garvey Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2801 john.garvey@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Co-Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Richard J. Eichmann Director San Francisco
Los Angeles
+1 415 291 1033
+1 213 346 3009
richard.eichmann@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Mary Elizabeth C. Stern Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4054 mary.elizabeth.stern@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Jorge Baez Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5753 jorge.baez@nera.com
Drew Claxton Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 3442 drew.claxton@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Erin McHugh Associate Director London
New York City
+44 20 7659 8736
+1 212 345 2990
erin.mchugh@nera.com
Timothy McKenna Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5503 timothy.mckenna@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2842 ignacio.franceschelli@nera.com
Stefan Boettrich Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1968 stefan.boettrich@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
William P. Hrycay Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1518 william.hrycay@nera.com
Dr. Naoya Kaneko Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3294 naoya.kaneko@nera.com
Gary Lambert Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8652 gary.lambert@nera.com
George Minkovsky Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2804 george.minkovsky@nera.com
Clara Segurola Principal London +44 20 7659 8606 clara.segurola@nera.com
Svetlana Starykh Senior Consultant New York City
White Plains, NY
+1 212 345 8931
+1 914 448 4123
svetlana.starykh@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Georgi Tsvetkov Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9237 georgi.tsvetkov@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Sorin M. Sorescu Affiliated Academic New York City
Houston
+1 212 345 3185 faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. Jerry Arnold Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 310 570 3982 JArnold@marshall.usc.edu
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Victor Goldberg Affiliated Academic New York City +1 212 345 3000 vpg@law.columbia.edu
Dr. Paul Wertheim Affiliated Academic Austin
Toronto
Los Angeles
+ 1 512 383 4800
+1 416 868 7314
+1 325 674 2071
paul.wertheim.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Overdahl Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC +1 202 547 3035 joverdahl@deltastrat.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 212 345 2687
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 robert.mackay.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Tennican Affiliated Consultant Boston +1 617 927 4500 michael.tennican.affiliate@nera.com