Securities and Finance

Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy

NERA's bankruptcy financial advisory capabilities encompass enterprise valuation services, restructuring advisory services, and expert advice and testimony in adversary proceedings.

We have industry experience and specialized institutional knowledge in sectors across the economy including energy, healthcare, oil and gas, financial services, housing finance, and media and telecommunications. We also have specialized expertise in disciplines including finance, accounting, antitrust economics (analysis of competitive effects), structured finance, mass tort and liability valuation, analysis of ERISA plans, intellectual property valuation, and transfer pricing.

In addition to employing standard valuation methods, NERA economists draw on advanced techniques and models to analyze the feasibility of alternative restructuring plans and to value bankrupt company assets. We begin from first principles, starting with the underlying economic drivers and competitive dynamics of the markets we are asked to analyze. Clients benefit from the combination of our multidisciplinary approach and our experience as consultants, testifying experts, and arbitrators, as well as our firm's exacting standards for rigor and objectivity.

In fraudulent conveyance cases and other adversary proceedings, NERA economists provide insights into the scope of potential exposure, produce expert reports, and deliver expert testimony.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Mary Elizabeth C. Stern Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4054 mary.elizabeth.stern@nera.com
Drew Claxton Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 3442 drew.claxton@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Timothy McKenna Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5503 timothy.mckenna@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
William P. Hrycay Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1518 william.hrycay@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
PDVSA’s Peculiar Oct. ’22 Bond May Carry Elevated Risks Report By Timothy McKenna and Raphael Starr
Securities Class Actions: 2016 Full-Year Review and Mid-2017 Flash Update Published Article By Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
BSA/AML Compliance and Enforcement: An Update for the Securities and Derivatives Indu... Published Article By. Sharon Brown-Hruska
Not All MBS Settlements Are Equal White Paper By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
Securities Class Actions Appear to Be Largely ‘Price-Maintenance’ and Omissions Cases White Paper By Dr. David Tabak
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
An Economist's View of Market Evidence in Valuation and Bankruptcy Litigation Working Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry and William Hrycay