Securities and Finance

Broker/Customer Disputes

Broker/Customer Disputes

Brokers and investment advisors have duties under the law to know their customers' investment needs and tolerance for risk. Often when investors lose money, they consider whether investments made by their advisor or recommendations made by their broker were appropriate. For more than two decades, our economists have been called upon to render opinions in disputes between investors and their broker-dealers, investment advisors and fund managers. NERA experts have provided analyses supporting investors and brokers for use in arbitration and the courtroom. Our work has focused both on liability, examining allegations such as unsuitability and churning, and damages, measuring how much investors might have earned under an alternative investment strategy. Our expertise with financial theory and experience with various trading strategies and instruments allows us to put ourselves in the shoes of parties while the investment decisions were being made in order to better focus on whether the trading practices at issue were appropriate.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Gary Lambert Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8652 gary.lambert@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 robert.mackay.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Crypto Market Surveillance Has Arrived Published Article Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska, Dr. Jordan Milev, and Trevor Wagener
Recent Trends in Virtual Currency Regulation, Enforcement, and Litigation White Paper Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska and Trevor Wagener
Cryptocurrencies: Fundamentals, Developments, and Regulation White Paper Dr. Airat Chanyshev
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2017 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys and Robert Patton
What Does the CFPB Complaint Database Tell Us About the Quality of Servicing of Stude... White Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry, Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli, and David Cen
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2017 Full-Year Review White Paper By. Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Damages in Financial Services Arbitrations in GAR’s Second Edition of The Guide to Da... Book Edited by John A. Trenor
Trends in Regulatory Enforcement in UK Financial Markets: 2017/18 Mid-Year Report Report By Erin B. McHugh
A Look at Initial Coin Offerings White Paper Timothy McKenna and Sammy Chu
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen