Securities and Finance

Credit Crisis Litigation

Credit Crisis Litigation

Over the past few years, credit markets contracted quickly, as several economic factors caused the credit boom to stop and a meltdown to start. These factors include the rise in short-term and long-term interest rates and the decrease in the rate of home price appreciation, as well as declines in home prices. The credit crisis affected all areas of subprime lending, including auto loans and credit cards, and spilled over into prime lending. Problems in the lending market affect a broad array of stakeholders. Examples of disputes that have arisen include allegations of predatory lending, misrepresentation and omissions related to the valuation of the loans and the profits from selling or servicing them, suitability of investments, breach of contract related to loan servicing, and fraudulent conveyance issues.

Resolving these issues requires a deep understanding of the economic foundations and roles of each stakeholder in the subprime lending market; an understanding of how that market performed over time; and a broad, objective analysis of the events that caused the meltdown. NERA experts have substantial background in the subprime lending market and experience with litigation among the stakeholders in that market, including our work in the previous subprime market crash in 1998.

We are working with clients to better understand and navigate the fallout from the dramatic collapse of the subprime lending industry. Our expertise in this area includes:

Bankruptcy Issues

  • Analyzing market factors and what was reasonably known at the time of a transaction
  • Determining fair market values of loan portfolio and other assets
  • Conducting econometric analysis of defaults
  • Assessing solvency and capital adequacy
  • Examining fraudulent conveyance issues
  • Performing deepening insolvency analysis

Portfolio Performance Analysis

  • Analyzing causes of collateral failure
  • Examining due diligence procedures
  • Using statistical analysis to evaluate the quality of loan servicing

Securities Fraud Class Actions

Complex Commercial Disputes

Accounting

  • Estimating expected loan losses
  • Assessing collateral performance reporting
  • Analyzing accountant and auditor liability
  • Conducting forensic accounting analyses
Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2842 ignacio.franceschelli@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. James Overdahl Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC +1 202 547 3035 joverdahl@deltastrat.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 robert.mackay.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Crypto Market Surveillance Has Arrived Published Article Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska, Dr. Jordan Milev, and Trevor Wagener
Recent Trends in Virtual Currency Regulation, Enforcement, and Litigation White Paper Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska and Trevor Wagener
Cryptocurrencies: Fundamentals, Developments, and Regulation White Paper Dr. Airat Chanyshev
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2017 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys and Robert Patton
What Does the CFPB Complaint Database Tell Us About the Quality of Servicing of Stude... White Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry, Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli, and David Cen
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2017 Full-Year Review White Paper By. Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Damages in Financial Services Arbitrations in GAR’s Second Edition of The Guide to Da... Book Edited by John A. Trenor
Trends in Regulatory Enforcement in UK Financial Markets: 2017/18 Mid-Year Report Report By Erin B. McHugh
A Look at Initial Coin Offerings White Paper Timothy McKenna and Sammy Chu
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen