Securities and Finance

Financial Institutions and Banking

Financial Institutions and Banking

Financial market participants are operating in a changed landscape.  Government regulation and supervision of financial services is undergoing far-reaching changes. Complying with these new regulations requires significant changes in the way financial services firms do business.

NERA works with financial institutions in both litigation and business contexts, providing economic and financial consulting and expert testimony. Our finance experts have had hands-on experience working at government regulatory bodies such as the Federal Reserve, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, the Federal Trade Commission, the International Monetary Fund, and the President's Working Group on Financial Markets. NERA experts have also worked for leading financial services firms, including Bank of America, Barclays, Banque Paribas, CS First Boston, Morgan Stanley, and Merrill Lynch. NERA’s experience and expertise make the firm a leader in the core capabilities that are critical to helping financial institutions operate in the new competitive environment and manage emerging regulatory and enforcement challenges.
  
NERA assists with issues surrounding:

  • Risk management practices
  • Valuation of financial products including complex derivatives and securities, regulatory examinations and investigations
  • Securities litigation
  • Complex commercial disputes
  • Forensic accounting, including proper application of accounting rules
  • Bankruptcy

We provide advice and training, including design and implementation of models needed to comply with rules and regulations, assessments of business lines and functions before regulatory examinations, and assistance to firms in responding to examinations.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Securities and Finance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Gary Lambert Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8652 gary.lambert@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. James Overdahl Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC +1 202 547 3035 joverdahl@deltastrat.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
PDVSA’s Peculiar Oct. ’22 Bond May Carry Elevated Risks Report By Timothy McKenna and Raphael Starr
Securities Class Actions: 2016 Full-Year Review and Mid-2017 Flash Update Published Article By Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
BSA/AML Compliance and Enforcement: An Update for the Securities and Derivatives Indu... Published Article By. Sharon Brown-Hruska
Not All MBS Settlements Are Equal White Paper By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
Securities Class Actions Appear to Be Largely ‘Price-Maintenance’ and Omissions Cases White Paper By Dr. David Tabak
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
Automated Detection in SEC Enforcement: Anticipating and Adapting to Emerging Account... Working Paper By Dr. Jerry Arnold and Raymund Wong
The Use of ABX Derivatives in Credit Crisis Litigation Published Article By Dr. Faten Sabry with Dr. Ethan Cohen-Cole
Don't Regulate Asset Managers as If They Were Banks Published Article By Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska et al.