Securities and Finance

Mutual Fund and Investment Company Act Litigation

Mutual Fund and Investment Company Act Litigation

The wave of litigation surrounding trading in mutual funds has created a need for sophisticated economic and statistical analyses on how to detect and measure the effects of practices such as market timing and late trading. NERA has developed tools to investigate whether market timing was present using both overall fund flow data and data on trading by individual investors. We have also analyzed how different behaviors by investors and funds influence the losses that non-timing investors suffered. More broadly, NERA economists have worked on numerous cases where the actions of investors and investment advisors have been at issue. Our work in valuation and litigation also allows us to quickly develop tools to meet the needs of new litigation, such as questions about how securities should have been valued in calculating the net asset value of a portfolio. We have also investigated the appropriateness of fees charged by mutual fund companies.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Securities and Finance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Crypto Market Surveillance Has Arrived Published Article Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska, Dr. Jordan Milev, and Trevor Wagener
Recent Trends in Virtual Currency Regulation, Enforcement, and Litigation White Paper Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska and Trevor Wagener
Cryptocurrencies: Fundamentals, Developments, and Regulation White Paper Dr. Airat Chanyshev
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2017 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys and Robert Patton
What Does the CFPB Complaint Database Tell Us About the Quality of Servicing of Stude... White Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry, Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli, and David Cen
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2017 Full-Year Review White Paper By. Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Damages in Financial Services Arbitrations in GAR’s Second Edition of The Guide to Da... Book Edited by John A. Trenor
Trends in Regulatory Enforcement in UK Financial Markets: 2017/18 Mid-Year Report Report By Erin B. McHugh
A Look at Initial Coin Offerings White Paper Timothy McKenna and Sammy Chu
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen