Securities and Finance

Securities Litigation

Securities Litigation

NERA economists provide answers to difficult questions arising in:

  • Class actions and opt-out suits involving individual securities and funds
  • Broker/customer disputes alleging unsuitability and churning
  • Valuations of fixed income and derivative products
  • Mutual fund and 1940 Investment Act litigation
  • Measuring costs of illiquidity
  • Bankruptcy and fraudulent conveyance actions
  • Derivative suits
  • Insider trading and manipulation cases
  • Supervisory goodwill litigation
  • Practices such as IPO allocations and markup policies
  • ERISA actions
  • Lost profit allegations
  • Development of new financial products
  • Strategic consulting for exchanges and securities firms; and
  • Impact assessment of proposed regulatory changes.

Our experts have knowledge spanning equity and commodity markets; U.S. government, corporate, municipal and mortgage securities; bonds and currencies of global and emerging markets; and warrants, futures, forwards, swaps, options and other derivatives. We have been retained to assist in liability issues as well as to compute damages, and we participate in arbitration proceedings and alternative dispute resolution as well as traditional litigation.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Andrew Carron Chairman New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 sharon.brown.hruska@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Jorge Baez Associate Director Miami
New York City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
jorge.baez@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Timothy McKenna Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5503 timothy.mckenna@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
Stefan Boettrich Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1968 stefan.boettrich@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Gary Lambert Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8652 gary.lambert@nera.com
Dr. Jerry Arnold Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 310 570 3982 JArnold@marshall.usc.edu
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com