Survey Research, Design, and Analysis

Surveys are used as evidence in a wide range of litigation. NERA's Survey Research, Design, and Analysis group provides consulting and expert testimony on design, implementation, and analysis of surveys to address issues in antitrust, communications, health care, intellectual property, labor disputes, mass torts, product liability, and water issues. Our survey methodologists design original surveys and critique those performed by others. Our experts have designed and conducted surveys using all modes of survey data collection (e.g., telephone, internet, intercept, self-administered, etc.), as well as qualitative in-depth interviews and focus groups for litigation. Surveys have been conducted with samples from consumers, businesses, and employees.

NERA's survey data have been used as evidence in proving liability and damages in trademark, tradedress, dilution and false advertising disputes, misrepresentations and omissions, merger cases, and labor cases, as well as class certification hearings. In non-litigation settings, our survey conclusions have helped clients plan product strategy and technology requirements, and estimate the value of nonmarket goods. Our expertise in surveys include:

  • Identifying the relevant population and developing the most efficient and accurate way to sample the target population, including developing the appropriate sample frame (list) and sample size
  • Developing and pretesting the survey questions -- including the use of in-depth interviewing, cognitive interviewing, focus groups, and formal quantitative testing as needed
  • Evaluating and developing complex question strategies such as: hypothetical choice questions, willingness to pay questions, and conjoint and ordered logit analysis
  • Determining the appropriate methodology for implementing the survey. Commonly used methodologies include telephone surveys, Internet surveys, mall-intercept surveys, and self-administered surveys
  • Evaluating the methodologies of surveys and market research submitted by others as evidence
Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
San Francisco
Geneva
+1 202 466 9270
+1 415 291 1044
+41 22 819 94 94
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Fabrizio Hernández Managing Director Madrid
London
Rome
+34 91 521 0020
+44 20 7659 8500
+39 06 488 8101
fabrizio.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust & Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Kent Van Liere Managing Director Denver
San Francisco
+1 303 357 4782
+1 415 291 1010
kent.van.liere@nera.com
Sarah Butler Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1022 sarah.butler@nera.com
Richard J. Eichmann Director San Francisco
Los Angeles
+1 415 291 1033
+1 213 346 3009
richard.eichmann@nera.com
Tomas Haug Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Mary Elizabeth C. Stern Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4054 mary.elizabeth.stern@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk@nera.com
Timothy McKenna Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5503 timothy.mckenna@nera.com
David Monk Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4001 david.monk@nera.com
Dr. Bernard Reddy Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4535 bernard.reddy@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dr. Naoya Kaneko Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 3500 3294 naoya.kaneko@nera.com
Dr. Melissa Pittaoulis Senior Consultant Philadelphia +1 215 864 3879 melissa.pittaoulis@nera.com
Healey Whitsett Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9202 healey.whitsett@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Eugene Ericksen Affiliated Academic Philadelphia +1 215 864 3878 eugene.ericksen.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Karl McDermott Affiliated Academic Chicago +1 312 573 2822 karl.mcdermott.affiliate@nera.com
Nigel Attenborough Affiliated Industry Expert London 44 20 7659 8514 nigel.attenborough.affiliate@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 dennis.colenutt.affiliate@nera.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Carl Peterson Affiliated Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2802 carl.peterson.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Damages Based On The Intrinsic Value Of Privacy? Published Article By Dr. Garrett Glasgow and Sarah Butler
Pharmacy Practice: A Report on Pharmacists' Use of Printed Package Inserts Report Dr. Sarah Butler
Control Groups in Lanham Act Surveys Published Article By Dr. Eugene Ericksen and Dr. Melissa Pittaoulis
The Value of Personal Information to Consumers of Online Services: Evidence from a Di... Study By Sarah Butler and Dr. Garrett Glasgow
Understanding 'Frequent Survey Responders' on Online Panels Working Paper By Healey C. Whitsett
Lost Without a Map: A Survey about Students' Experiences Navigating the Financial Aid... Report By Healey C. Whitsett with Rory O'Sullivan on behalf of Young Invincibles
High Debt, Low Information: A Survey of Student Loan Borrowers Report By Healey C. Whitsett, on behalf of Young Invincibles
How Much Does that Medication Cost? A Study of Medicare Beneficiaries' Knowledge of O... Study By Dr. Eugene Ericksen and Melissa Pittaoulis
Survey Evidence in False Advertising Cases Published Article By Sarah Butler
Data in Wage and Hour Litigation: What To Do When You Have It and What To Do When You... Working Paper By Dr. Alex Grecu, Sukaina Klein, Dr. Denise Martin, Mary Elizabeth Stern, and Dr. Kent Van Liere, et al.