Transport

NERA Economic Consulting is a leader in providing clear, independent, robust economic advice to the transport sector. We are experts in economic regulation and advise on industry restructuring, institutional structures, and the design and implementation of regulatory reform.  We have designed regulatory frameworks in advance of major privatizations and we help regulated firms, regulators, and other stakeholders, both during price cap reviews and when dealing with other issues arising from the implementation of economic regulation.  

NERA is a global leader in the application of access charging, and we have carried out many major projects on both charging principles and the detailed impact of specific parts of the incentive framework. Our experts also assist government bodies in developing public policy in the transport sector, and are renowned for our extensive experience in appraisal and evaluation methodologies. We use a wide variety of economic techniques, including econometric analysis and sophisticated spreadsheet models, for a variety of purposes such as cost and pricing analysis, forecasting, or modeling.
 
NERA's work covers all areas of the transport sector where the rigorous application of microeconomic principles and techniques can lead to better outcomes. We help transport operators and their associations, governments, governmental bodies, international agencies and regulators. We frequently work in collaboration with bankers, lawyers, public affairs consultants, transport planners, engineers, and other technical specialists.
 
Our experts have extensive experience in the rail, aviation, urban transport, and maritime industries and regularly address sector-wide issues. Our European Transport Group, part of NERA's global Energy, Environment, and Network Industries Practice, is based in London and works closely with staff in NERA's other European offices. We work in conjunction with experts in NERA's global network of offices to provide extensive transport sector experience to our clients worldwide.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Glenn R. George Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9284 glenn.george@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Robert Southern Managing Director Melbourne
Sydney
+61 3 9623 5135
+61 2 8864 6510
robert.southern@nera.com
Tomas Haug Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Jeanne Lubek Director Paris +33 1 70 75 01 82 jeanne.lubek@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
George Anstey Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Richard Druce Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Alon Carmel Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8628 alon.carmel@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Principal Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Senior Consultant Auckland +64 9 928 3292 will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Lewis Evans Affiliated Academic Wellington +64 4 474 1320 lew.evans@vuw.ac.nz
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Michael Spackman Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8660 michael.spackman.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Consultant Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com