Valuation

IP Valuation

IP Valuation

The proper valuation of intellectual property requires a thorough understanding of the realities of the market(s) in which that property is used. Rule-of-thumb calculations often fail to withstand hostile scrutiny in the event of legal actions. Outside of disputed proceedings, cookie-cutter applications of valuation methods and accounting allocations often incorrectly assess the value of the IP in question.

NERA economists understand that proper and defensible valuation of IP assets requires thoroughly considering the relevant market and IP-specific information. In so doing, we formulate and test forward-looking assumptions about the prospective economic conditions of the IP assets at issue. Our experts apply rigorous economic analysis to a variety of IP-related issues including: the monetary impact of theft of IP assets; the internal transfer price for the use of IP assets across divisions of a multinational corporation; the value of an IP asset or portfolio in connection with its sale or license; the decision to license IP, including a recommendation of an appropriate price and other terms; and the monetary impact of theft of loss of IP legal protection.

NERA economists have extensive experience valuing intangible assets. These include assignments relating to financial reporting and tax requirements, spin-outs, and asset sales, and calculating the internal transfer price for its use across divisions of a multi-national corporation. We provide guidance about IP asset value before and after transactions have been consummated, enabling parties to create appropriate documentation to support tax-reporting requirements.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Anne Gron Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2850 anne.gron@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Stuart L. Harshbarger Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4185 stuart.harshbarger@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Vladimir Starkov Associate Director Chicago +1 312 573 2806 vladimir.starkov@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alexander Voegele Affiliated Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 501 alexander.voegele.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
PDVSA’s Peculiar Oct. ’22 Bond May Carry Elevated Risks Report By Timothy McKenna and Raphael Starr
Economic Approaches to Intellectual Property Policy, Litigation, and Management Book Edited by Dr. Lauren Stiroh et al.