Water

NERA's Water Practice helps water companies, investors, governments, and multinational institutions successfully cope with the economic and regulatory issues related to the water and wastewater industries. Our work spans more than 25 countries where we often act as economic advisor during development of new laws, restructuring and privatization, whether on the sell- or buy-side, often focusing on the design of matching regulatory frameworks and concession contracts, and on modeling their financial and tariff implications.

We routinely contribute expert advice and testimony during subsequent development of regulations and their application in cases of all sorts including the re-setting of rates and tariffs. We also have special expertise in the economics of water as an environmental resource, which is drawn on in advising on property rights reform, the design of trading and taxation arrangements, and appraisal of proposition for environmental improvement or development.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Tomas Haug Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
George Anstey Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Richard Druce Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
James Grayburn Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8572 james.grayburn@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Associate Director San Francisco
Mexico City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 59993110
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Clara Segurola Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8606 clara.segurola@nera.com
Dr. William Baker Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8520 bill.baker.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Cost of Equity for Utilities – An International Perspective Presentation Dr. Richard Hern
How Should the Appropriate Horizon for Integrated Water Resource Planning be Ascertai... Report By Dr. Bill Baker, James Grayburn, and Adriana Linares
Response to Ofwat’s Cost of Debt Consultation for PR19 Report By James Grayburn, Zuzana Janeckova, et al.
Use of Inflation Indices in Water Sector Report By Dr. Richard Hern, Dr. Bill Baker and James Grayburn
Incorporating Marginal Costs in Water Supply Tariffs: Prospects for Change Working Paper By George Anstey and Tom Graham
Economics in Environmental Decision-Making: US Environmental Protection Agency Provid... Working Paper By Dr. David Harrison, Jr. with Dr. Noah Kaufman
A Cross-Sector and Cross-Country Review of Approaches to Transitioning to Markets Report By Bill Baker, Daniel Radov, Adil Hanif, Tobie Cusson, Kevin Counsell, Wayne Olson and Harry Fearnehough
Setting Efficient Tariffs for Wastewater Infrastructure Published Article By George Anstey
Comments on EPA's Notice of Data Availability for §316(b) Stated Preference Surv... Report By Dr. David Harrison, Dr. Eugene Ericksen, Dr. Melissa Pittaoulis, and Dr. Bernard Reddy et. al.
Environment Agency: Water Resources Management Planning -- Real Options Analysis White Paper By Dr. William Baker, Thomas Ash, and Nanthawit Sukthaworn with Dr. Gregory Hamm