White Collar Criminal Litigation, Investigations, and Compliance

Trading Behavior

Trading Behavior

There are many instances in which an examination of how investors traded securities can shed insight on a dispute. Sometimes, the question is how certain trades may have affected prices, specifically when there are claims of market manipulation through certain trading behavior. Other times, there are questions about whether the trading itself was reasonable, such as when there are allegations of churning by brokers or in understanding the trades by a fund or investment manager accused of running a Ponzi or similar scheme. There are also situations in which one wants to draw information from non-fraudulent trading, such as estimating the number of shares that may be damaged in a shareholder class action or determining whether potential class members' shares can be traced back to a particular offering.

NERA economists bring their background and experience in understanding trading behavior to all of these analyses. Our work has included examinations of aggregate market data reported by trading markets like exchanges, as well as individual-level data from clients, brokerage houses, and entities like the Depository Trust Clearing Corporation and Omgeo. Our experience in working with these data can be helpful in understanding where to locate different forms of data and in understanding what needs to be requested from the producing party in order for later analyses to be useful.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Matthew Evans Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 2945 matthew.evans@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Senior Vice President
Co-Chair of NERA's White Collar Criminal Litigation, Investigations, and Compliance Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Senior Vice President New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Senior Vice President
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Senior Vice President New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Vice President
Co-Chair of NERA's White Collar Criminal Litigation, Investigations, and Compliance Practice
New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Vice President New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director London
New York City
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com