White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement

Price Fixing Investigations

Price Fixing Investigations

NERA experts have extensive experience evaluating allegations of criminal collusive anticompetitive behavior, including price fixing, bid rigging, customer and geographic allocation, buyer cartels, and other collusive behavior. Our economists have worked on a broad variety of criminal investigations involving allegedly anticompetitive agreements, including horizontal (between competitors) and vertical (between firms at different levels of the supply chain) agreements. Our previous work covers a wide variety of products and services, including agricultural commodities and natural resources, capital equipment, transportation and fuel surcharges, industrial inputs, and consumer goods and services.

NERA’s economists provide the full suite of capabilities and services needed to evaluate allegations of price fixing and other cartel activity, and to address all aspects and phases of the regulatory, enforcement, and legal processes that such allegations put into motion. We examine detailed transaction or bidding data and conduct a wide range of economic analysis to determine whether the alleged conspiracy is consistent with actual market conditions and rational economic behavior. NERA's analyses in such matters have helped companies and individuals accused of anticompetitive collusion evaluate their exposure in criminal matters, prepare their best defense, or even avoid criminal charges altogether. NERA experts also have testified at criminal trials arising from cartel investigations, including testimony for individuals accused of criminal conduct.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
David Monk Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4001 david.monk@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Expert Analysis: Financial Crisis Anniversary - Trends In Credit Crisis Settlements Published Article By Faten Sabry, Sungi Lee, and Linh Nguyen
Securities Class Actions: 2016 Full-Year Review and Mid-2017 Flash Update Published Article By Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
BSA/AML Compliance and Enforcement: An Update for the Securities and Derivatives Indu... Published Article By. Sharon Brown-Hruska
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2016 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys & Robert Patton
Innocent Until Proven Guilty -- Or Not: An Economic Review of Market Power and Price ... Working Paper By Christian Dippon
Observations on the Multiple Dimensions of Market Power Book Chapter By Dr. Alan J. Daskin and Dr. Lawrence Wu
Observations on the Multiple Dimensions of Market Power Published Article By Dr. Alan (Jeff) Daskin and Dr. Lawrence Wu
Exchanging Price Information can be Efficient: Per se Offences should be Legislated v... Working Paper By James Mellsop and Dr. Lewis Evans
Substituting Outrage for Thought: The Enron Smoking Gun Memos Published Article By Jonathan Falk