White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement

Trading Behavior

Trading Behavior

There are many instances in which an examination of how investors traded securities can shed insight on a dispute. Sometimes, the question is how certain trades may have affected prices, specifically when there are claims of market manipulation through certain trading behavior. Other times, there are questions about whether the trading itself was reasonable, such as when there are allegations of churning by brokers or in understanding the trades by a fund or investment manager accused of running a Ponzi or similar scheme. There are also situations in which one wants to draw information from non-fraudulent trading, such as estimating the number of shares that may be damaged in a shareholder class action or determining whether potential class members' shares can be traced back to a particular offering.

NERA economists bring their background and experience in understanding trading behavior to all of these analyses. Our work has included examinations of aggregate market data reported by trading markets like exchanges, as well as individual-level data from clients, brokerage houses, and entities like the Depository Trust Clearing Corporation and Omgeo. Our experience in working with these data can be helpful in understanding where to locate different forms of data and in understanding what needs to be requested from the producing party in order for later analyses to be useful.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Oksana Kitaychik Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1094 oksana.kitaychik@nera.com
Timothy McKenna Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5503 timothy.mckenna@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Raymund Wong Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 9361 raymund.wong@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com